December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Second Skin

by MrAmazingSocks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD to move, Q to hide the power list, R & T to change power and E to open doors.
You have to kill the 5 VIPs in locations and then kill the president.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#198Theme3.58
#257Innovation3.10
#406Overall2.90
#418Audio2.24
#485Mood2.57
#487Fun2.58
#595Humor1.90
#664Graphics2.10

Comments

karsyf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:03pm

A lot to like here.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:27pm

It's a good start !

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:32pm

Like pretty much the possibility to switch spells, it was fun. :) Need to work a bit more on graphics now ^^

Pierrec says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Woah! I wasn't convinced at first but it turned out to be really good! The character really looks like an action/thriller movie bad guy, and I love the GTA (1&2) feel in it! Skinning people is by far the funnier.

I didn't beat the game cause I'm not very good at it but also because the controls are weird. I would have loved a simpler way to change power, like right click for exemple, or a different button for each power (LMB to shoot, RMB to skin, spacerbar to clear the zone...)

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Really liked the ideas in this game. It could really do with better graphics - it was hard to know where your main power could reach to.

That aside the skinning power was great and the powers you had besides that were great to. A very ambitious game to make in 48 hours though.

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Cool game but the controls are a bit wired

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Well, its a really nice start, but it has some very obvious problems. The first is that there is no shortcuts for the powers. You have to cycle through with r and t each time you want a different power. Second, the graphics on the powers make it hard to tell which power is which. Finally, every time you switch powers, you lose your skin, so it gets annoying when trying to attack guards. You should at least keep it until you use a power. Other than that though its really good and I think you should continue it. Its really fun, and minus the graphics, the game has a really nice and creepy feel to it.

kewry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:03pm

I hope to see more

dcolgan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:18am

Cool concept. I like the idea of taking over dead things. Would have been nice to have a goal. Also are all of your graphics stretched? They look a little garbled. Nice job for 48 hours!

Kuulog says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:23pm

I wasn't quite sure what each of the powers did in this game. I figured out that the second power removes the skin off a corpse, but I'm not sure what the 4th power does.

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:28pm

Impressively big for a 48-hour game!

otus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:55pm

It's a good and ambitious idea. I like how you are able to switch spells, but a faster mana regen would make the game alot more fun.
The graphics are very simple, but it's at a good standard for the 48 compo.
It's fun, but like I said, would be better if you could use spells more often.
Not much can be said about the audio. It's simple but it's there, which is much more than most others.

Congratulations on this great submission.

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08pm

Sorry, but I didn't understand much of the game ... the skinning is cool. But I don't get what the other powers do. Also, I couldn't find anything to do other then to kill cops. The mana bar (or whatever you call it) refreshes to slow for my understanding.

Van Merwan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:51pm

The different powers aren't very well balanced, I always use the skin power because it uses less mana and I feel like an assassin.
The boucy power is pretty fun too. :)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:20pm

I had to try each spell to figure out what they all were (the icons didn't help), and ended up running out of mana. Good start though, I rated you highly in graphics because I loved the way you did the lightning spell. Very programmer art-y. :)

Neonlare says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 6:48am

Pretty fun, graphics need a bit o'tuning, but a good romp nonetheless :D.

JaJ says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Nice concept with the skinning. There seemed to be some problems with collisions, it would be nice if I could walk alongside a wall without friction. Also the power icons in the top right were often in the way of my view. Other than that it was really nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]