December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Crunch Crunch Boom

by Sigrath - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the left and right arrow keys to steer. Avoid rocks, grab gems and blow up the Earth! Upgrades sold at a store near you. Disclaimer: may contain traces of Goat.

EDIT: Added version that should be able to run on Linux.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#258Graphics3.20
#284Fun3.00
#351Audio2.46
#433Overall2.84
#507Innovation2.56
#522Theme2.84
#553Mood2.42
#617Humor1.82
#670Coolness49%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:09am

this game looks really cool, ive encountered a bug, for some reason pressing the right arrow does nothing for me.

Sigrath says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:18am

Thanks! You should only press either left or right, not both at the same time ;)

JFlegle says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:36am

this game is fun, right now its too hard for me to collect gems for upgrades

madameberry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47am

Holy crap when you go fast you have no time to react! XD Fun though.

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:49am

game looks good but I there are not enough diamonds to buy new fuel once you run out :O

pfirsich says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:00am

This game is very addictive! (though it takes a little while to get started). Also the theme also fits rather remotely. Good work!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:19am

Given the speed of the player, and the slowness in turning, it was was nearly impossible to actually dodge the rocks or aim for gems. This made the beginning slow (it took about 6 or 7 runs before I got enough gems for the first upgrade. That said, I think this could be improved by going in one of two ways: one, scale the game so that the player can see further down in the level and aim appropriately, or two, change the game into more of a simulation where you don't control the missle directly, but are in charge of upgrading in order to make it to the end.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:14am

Web version isn't working for me (on Ubuntu), just get a screen filled with warning tape lines. Shame, looks interesting!

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:45am

I agree with the above posters, fun but far too difficult, the window needs to be longer and move slightly slower.

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:50am

Great work, although I got a little bit lost for the control at first.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:34am

Nice game I spend 30 minutes playing it x.x really fun :3

Xgor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Gotta say I really liked it, it's an pretty addicting game and and is very satisfying yet simple.

Komradus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:02am

The graphics fit the game so well and a fun challenge to attempt, however you run out of fuel way too quickly.

Retroid says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:07am

Game was lots of fun and it was really satisfying when I got to the end!

De10ter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:44am

Nice concept, simple but satisfying gameplay.
Though after a few speed upgrades I found it too hard to control and eventually beat the game by having most of the upgrades and letting the drill go in a straight line with no input from me.

Drabiter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:47am

Given this speed, it needs no skill but luck ^^; Well polished!

berareu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:52am

The speed make it hard to aim for the gem and I actually noticed that the windows and web versions have different speeds...I dunno, maybe it's my pc fault :)
The graphics are great, they look like an old windows game from the '90s!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:53am

Upgrading speed at first and seeing the thing became uncontrollable, I restarted and zigzagged my way down in frustration as rocks kept hitting me exactly and gems were flying past I upped hull and fuel to 4 and then saved up, upgraded speed to 4 and just went straight down and won. I also got 1250 point just there so clearly my strategy was not needed.

Which is kind of my problem with this, there is no way to do the right thing. Things just happen and the only real investment is time. Not to say this is horrible but if I felt I had more control over what was going on I would have liked this better.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]