December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Villain Quest

by ENP - Jam Entry

Villain Quest is a odd choose your action /adventure game with absurd animations and art.


Built using HTML5, CSS, Flash, and art using Photoshop.


*recommended to be played on Firefox*


Sorry for not being 100% finished lost the time to work~
Will try to get more time next ludum dare.

Thanks for playing cheers.

*Not entirely finished / sounds may or may not work if I find the time I will finish it and fix any bugs*

*I will be updating this throughout the judging*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#158Humor(Jam)2.63
#254Audio(Jam)1.71
#259Theme(Jam)2.68
#296Innovation(Jam)2.07
#311Mood(Jam)1.68
#320Fun(Jam)1.67
#320Graphics(Jam)1.74
#331Overall(Jam)1.74

Comments

pythong says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46pm

lol? yarg? :D funny idea mixing flash and html. had no sounds btw on firefox

markengley says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:57pm

hah! Interesting idea, and I got a suitable kick out of seeing the outcomes. Good work!

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:57pm

'Candy from a baby' doesn't seem to work for me (using Firefox)

wlad says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:25pm

Hi ENP,

played it on Firefox/Mac. When I clicked on the "Candy from the Baby" Button, music starts. I liked the theme!

ENP says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:30pm

To all of you having trouble with "candy from the baby" .... it is not finished yet will be hopefully by this Friday along with some bug fixes.

Thank you all for your time and for playing!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:49pm

Is this a game? I click on bank heist ninja style and just get a loop of an animation.

ENP says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:52pm

@marekkPie

Its a choose your play type of game would of added more choices for a fun challenge but I ran short of time.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:22am

Didn't want to install the air application and the web link is down. Fix it and I'll come back later to give this one a go :D

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:27am

Interesting concept. I'd like to see some more interactive elements for each action. A bunch of mini-games that branch on success/failure to tell a story would be cool.

ENP says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:33am

@youdonotexist

I will try to put that all in this following weekend with a major update.

Thanks for playing!

Winterblood says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:47am

Nice cartoony style, shame there's so little to do! Could probably have given the player more choices if you'd done stills instead of anims for each branch point. Success/fail is a bit random too, although the anims were amusing.

davidwparker says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:54pm

Cute animation... not really a game, but a decent 'choose your own adventure'. You should go deep with this (7-10 levels deep with 2-3 choices each, interwoven) and it could be really cool.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]