Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Make It Black - zenmumbler - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are some awful creature from a warped dimension who happened to get lost in what seems to be an episode of the old house on the prairie, awful!

Use your dark bile and turn this place into a wonderful place of darkness if you ever want to get home.

Full game with in-game explanation and end sequence. There is even a goat. Play time about 10 mins.

Requirements:
HTML version => Any recent browser that is not IE. Firefox won't play audio, sorry.
Mac OS X version => OS X v10.7 (Lion) or newer
Windows version => Windows XP or newer.

Native versions are stand alone and don't need any additional installs, libraries, etc.

Key terms;
* Platformer, 2D, Single Player

I hope you enjoy this! Good luck to all the other LDers!

View zenmumbler's journal. | View all entries by zenmumbler

Ratings

Coolness100%
#114Theme3.78
#114Innovation3.50
#123Fun3.39
#142Overall3.42
#164Humor3.13
#183Mood3.15
#217Graphics3.33
#338Audio2.50

Comments

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:40pm

Feel so to good to be a Villain :)

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:47pm

got stuck in a wall twice in the 2nd level because i was in between a wall and a round white guy
but nice idea!

Aswissrole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:03pm

Very nice, I was annoyed when it ended that there was no more to play :). Really cool game idea but too easy (needs some ranged enemies). BTW, my browser kept scrolling down when I pressed space or the arrow keys. There is certainly a little javascript code to prevent that.

PS. look out for diamond ore!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:03pm

Well done. I particularly liked the decrease in ambient light. A nice little touch.

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:08pm

I came up with this idea in the first hour. Fortunately I didn't choose it, because it's really hard to implement this idea better than you did!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:42pm

Aswissrole: yeah, I had planned for cherubs to fly around and fire heart-tipped arrows at you but I ran out of time. Figured too easy would be better in this compo than too hard as you can at least finish it.

Good find on the ore…

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:44pm

jerre: yep, sprite-world collision detection is not perfect sadly. Thanks for playing!

har_g says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:45pm

I didn't know that i'll like to vomit everywhere :)

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:45pm

the graphics are awesome :)

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:51pm

Nice little game. It was fun spewing around, although some corners were very hard to reach properly. 4 Levels? Yeah it was nice and short. There was even a goat =)

I had fun playing it although it was very annoying that the browser kept scrolling up and down when hitting space or arrow up.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:01pm

I probably spent too much time on details nobody would notice. E.g. if a tile is corrupted and there's a plant on it, it will die eventually. Also, the hearts die off randomly over time after you finish the level. I was basically experimenting with Minecraft style world updates etc. Damn you, Notch!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:09pm

Speaking of things most people won't see, try dying! It's a cool effect! *Sigh* *mumbles about effort wasted*

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:48pm

Super cool, love that the darkness is a function of gameplay. Great art!

grifdail says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55pm

Realy nice !

crashbanito says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:00am

This is a really solid game, and I love the bile physics you've got going there.

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02am

Loved the game. unfortunately my browser did not support the audio API but I'm sure it could have only added to the game!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02am

This is great! I would love to see this developed further. :D

rinaka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:05am

Nice game, spewing this black bile to cover the world is fun indeed. Also, you were very creative with the hazard pits -- they fit your concept but that's not something I'd expect to be there.

On the graphics side, I really liked the clouds and the darkening of the scenario. Very cool.

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:25am

I love the graphics, specially the darkening of the sky and the flowers dying! I had a bit of a framerate drop here, but it could be because I have tons of tabs open...

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:33am

This is my favorite game so far.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:06am

I really enjoyed it! BILE EVERYWHERE! EVIL WINS! Nice idea. It maybe needs another gameplay feature to make it more complex, but overall really good.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:16am

Thanks for all the nice comments, everyone! I had a blast making this. I'm trying to review as many games of yours as possible in return.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:13pm

The code and assets are now online at:
https://github.com/zenmumbler/MakeItBlack

I also wrote a postmortem:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/18/make-it-black-postmortem/

Thanks for playing, everyone!

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23pm

Got stuck in a wall in the third level :(

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:42pm

SunShiranui: sorry about that. When you have some time, please try it again later. Thanks for playing.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:18pm

Hehe nice, reminds me of our entry :D (Ninox the Nightbringer, I'll try to include required libraries) The goat at the end scared me, nice game! I'll read your postmortem, I'm curious how you made it.

Avenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:27pm

I really love the graphics! great job

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:53pm

I had a lot of fun recklessly spewing black bile out. It was a tad on the easy side, and could use different enemies to toss things up, but I still enjoyed it. The ending was cute. :)

amassingham says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:09am

Loved the 'disgust meter', and the concept is fresh.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:31am

Fun graphics and cool concept. Well done.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:03pm

Interesting and well developed idea. Maybe it was a little too easy.

hypp says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:57pm

Good fun!

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Who knew spewing bile everywhere could be such fun! Cute graphics, the way the landscape was affected reminded me of Terraria and I think I caught a Minecraft reference with the diamonds in the rocks at the end? Very cool.

mikkelin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:27pm

My favorite so far in the competition. Nice touch that the sky became darker with corruption. The bile mechanic was fresh (?) and well executed.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:42am

Mario sunshine rip off! Only Mario is a bast*rd. Good job!

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:50am

Great ending! :D I really liked the game mechanic and the controls were smooth and forgiving (it felt like slightly missing a platform still landed you on the platform - thank you for that!) and I loved the art style :D More levels would be great if you want to expand on this game! Awesome job!

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:28am

Very cool. Loved the idea and style. Wish there was music. Great work.

Faust says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:40am

The darken ambient and the disgusting meter is really interesting idea, nice entry.

chambers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:51pm

I found the idea of a disgust meter quite funny :) I was expecting a cool final level, too bad the game was too short :/

otus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:03pm

that was so good, gongrats, the main character is very charismatic!
the vomit mechanic was cool, but a little rough on the edges
great game, nice attention to the details, just a little too easy maybe

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:06pm

@chambers, I had planned 4 real levels and then the final level and it hurt to do it but I had to scrap the 4th level because I had a big list of details to fix and tweak and I was running out of time. I will take some time soon to make a full version.

Tyren says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Fun game! Also, I updated my entry to use the Reach profile. Can you please try again?

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:22pm

Wow that was fun!! Thanks for making this. Nice job with the clouds, I'm going to steal that idea someday :-)

JFlegle says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:17am

This game is great. I love your game mechanic. Just needs music.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:24am

IIIIIIIIIII knew it. I knew there had to be a Stones reference in this one! This is awesome! I really felt I made an impact on this world. Design note: I got bounced off by a heart and got trapped deep below the earth, on level 3, but it didn't spoil my fun at all. Loved the humour, loved the gameplay, this one is getting full marks!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:29pm

Wish there were more html5 entries, cudos

illugion says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:37am

"Here is your damn goat" LOL XD i liked the way he spits, it felt really nice

Joncom says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:13am

Graphics remind me of Terraria :)

nilstastic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:35am

Good: Great fun, nice physics and a nice idea =)
Improve: music would have been nice, also i felt that i had to spew to much bile, perpaps a lower coverage % to clear a level? =)

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:23pm

I like the physic of the bile, and the way light decrease, it really create some atmosphere in this game. It was nice to see red shape hearts being the thing to avoid. Mike Jagger could be proud of you.

davidwparker says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:51pm

I love being a cute bunny spitting bile. Haha- awesome.

I did get stuck in the wall on level 3- got hit by some hearts in the ditch and threw me into a wall.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:48am

Never thought vomiting would be so much fun as a game mechanic!

I was enjoying myself right up to level 3 when the heart pit trap threw me underground and prevented me from moving or jumping away.

I kind of wanted to see things like time attack modes, or special objectives while I played. Maybe those were in later levels after the one in which I became stuck.

Great concept!

bentog says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Well done, the art is pretty great. The only thing, in my opinion, that would make the game a lot more intuitive and relaxing (and also easy...) would be controlling the shooting angle with the mouse pointer. Great game you've done!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:14pm

Very clever little idea and very nicely implemented! Really liked how the world changed as you covered more an more of the area. A few tiles I couldn't seem to change (usually before a step), but aside from that a very nice game, well done! :)

lotusgame says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:28am

I got a bug, after touching a white living circle (don't remember the name ^^), i get invisible or outside the level, don't know. Anyway, i liked to convert the landscape into darkness ! A good potential :)

Sestren says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:45am

The ending cracked me up. I liked the particle effects, but I wish I could aim straight up sometimes. The idea of corrupting everything is neat, and I think it has potential to work alongside other game mechanics if fleshed out some more.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:21pm

Sorry about the problems getting stuck, of course I never encountered this problem but given the spit and duct-tape physics code I can imagine how it would happen :)

I rated all games of people who commented here. It's great to see all the diverse projects and ideas in an event like this. See you next time!

mkpictures says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:51pm

Haha, great :D It took me a while to figure out hearts actually make you loose too xD
Funny game, I liked it !

angela says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:47pm

lol @ "Power of Love 'n all that." Fun game.

Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:37am

Very cool, great execution on the concept for 48 hours. Solid.

Reminds me of some of the bitter indies in my social networks.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:36pm

brilliant game , good job :) .

rvmook says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:10pm

Great job for 48 hours. It was fun to run around and shoot bile. The level design was nice but I would've liked some more tricky levels, maybe for a post compo version?

RokB says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 12:03am

Nice game. Fun and rewarding to play.

csanyk says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:28am

Here's your damn goat. Lol.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:28pm

@rvmook, I was struggling at the end figuring out how to make it more challenging within the time that I had. I was going to add flying enemies with arrows but the clock was merciless. I will see if I clean it all up and add some more.

Mago says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 7:03pm

heh seems you had very similar idea to mine but you approached it from a diffrent angle. IMO your game turn out to be much better.
Great work, I love to vomit evil! And the ending make me laught :)

DavidErosa says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:17am

Evil vomit is evil. I enjoyed the game a lot, but sometimes I felt frustrated because I was "shooting" right to a tile and it would not become black...

Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:03pm

I loved spewing bile all over the place! I would have covered every surface if allowed - sometimes it was tricky to darken a ground tile that was in a corner. The little details you added made up for the additional level you didn't have time for.

Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:28am

I thought the spewing mechanic was pretty cool, but the game was a bit short. Quite liked the graphics and audio. Really nice HTML5 game!

ddionisio says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:19am

Sweet, I won a goat! I like how the global light diminishes as you spew more darkness. I definitely enjoyed the spewing mechanic. It was just a tad bit tedious on certain spots, mainly on corners.

Gungnir says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:03am

Satisfying bile-spewing action. Liked the use of hearts as a hazard.

zkenshin says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Amazing job. Very fun.

leafo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:33am

Very satisfying bile gameplay :) Sweet graphics.

ilo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Thank you for this, zenmumbler! The vomiting mechanic is very gratifying because we've all played games with annoying, cutesy characters and saccharine worlds. :)

The attention to detail was really nice to see, and the way gameplay mechanics were tied in to the theme, like the darkness of the sky standing in for a progress bar.

As others have said, it would have been nice if it was easier to hit the corners, and I don't know whether the bile really needed a cooldown; as a player I just wanted to be able to vomit constantly. But still, a really nice job. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]