December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Entropic

by the31 - Jam Entry

==== Controls ====
WASD: Movement
E: Toggle Mouselook
Mouse Movement: Look around/move mouse
Click (and drag!): Interact

==== Background ====
Suddenly woken from unconsciousness, an amnesia-stricken survivor of the End War struggles to remember the controls to a derelict space ship. After a one-sided conversation with a SUPERIOR ALIEN ROBOT BEING enforcement drone, this survivor is stranded with a broken-down ship and only the knowledge that he is a Villain.

==== Notes (Contains potential spoilers.) ====
- Game progress is time-based, and once the ending happens, all you can do is explore.
- Buttons that go "boop" do things, buttons that go "click" don't.
- The ending that happens is that the drone flies away.
- In case it isn't clear, the story: humankind was (for the most part) eliminated during the End War by the SUPERIOR ALIEN ROBOT BEINGs, since it wasn't efficient enough in its entropy generation and wasn't able to change. When this guy woke up, the drone sensed it, and informed him that it was unacceptable.
- This game serves as practice and as a prototype. I know a lot more about Unity after this LD, and want to create a game in the future using a similar style.

==== Tech ====
The 3-month Unity Pro trial so kindly given to us.
Visual Studio for code, with Vim bindings.
For texturing, an old version of FilterForge.
Modeling in Wings3d.
Bfxr for the sounds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#47Innovation(Jam)3.52
#58Mood(Jam)3.41
#149Overall(Jam)3.06
#152Graphics(Jam)3.27
#172Humor(Jam)2.54
#214Audio(Jam)2.33
#250Fun(Jam)2.39
#302Theme(Jam)2.18

Comments

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:29am

Strangely compelling, and somehow a little emotional.

After I fled the robot ship all of my radar contacts disappeared and I couldn't find it again. Space is a big place...

Xymostech says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:28am

This was really fun! I got pretty scared from the first messages, and it took a while to figure out controls, but once things calmed down it was very enjoyable. It also *spoiler* took me a while to figure out that the entropy it was talking about was me, and I spent a good long while clicking all the buttons to see if it would turn it off. :P

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:25am

Wow, really impressive! I really like the seat mechanic, and being able to walk around the "ship." The models are minimalistic, but pretty damn cool (and useful!). The throttle buttons are an interesting, and helpful touch. All in all, really enjoyed the game. Thanks for making it!

Team Tibbles says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:34am

Very much love the clean and crispness of it! And a lot of great features with the ship!

illugion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:54am

That was interestingly weird, i like that! I really liked playing around with the buttons and checking the messages there XD

BenW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:00am

I would not be a good spaceship pilot.

Winterblood says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Quite poignant - like the idea of being able to move around inside the spaceship, although the controls were pretty hard to use. Be nice if there was something you could accomplish, such as a fire button for blowing up asteroids.

sanderman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:34pm

This is interesting. I liked experimenting what all the buttons knobs do. Those message beeps were getting quite annoying so I kept trying to find the weapons controls to shut him up. :D

Add some actual gameplay elements and you have something cool.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:00pm

Great idea. I think most want to play in a cockpit like that.

Codexus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:47pm

Pretty cool game. It was fun playing with the controls to figure out how the ship works...

bach says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:38am

Very nice mood in this one. Would love to see more!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:19am

This was strangely intriguing, and while the controls for the spaceship were a bit awkward it felt like a really nice simulation, and struck me as... well... "real-ish" in a satisfying way. Like, "this is hard, but it really *would* be hard!"

It felt like baby steps, trying to figure everything out a piece at a time. It's funny, I could feel my mind grow a bit as each new item that did something "worked."

The mood was great as well. I felt sad for both the player and the robot.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:11pm

I played with this for a while trying to figure out what everything did. I'm very impressed with the radar system, targeting system, the console was simply brilliant, it even had a "space" bar. ;) It took a while to figure out that black thing was chasing me, and when i did it scared me to no end. I wanted to destroy it, tell it to go away, leave me alone, and stop annoying me with it's messages. Then it left. lol It would be nice to see this developed into a game. I like the idea of a sole survivor having to sort out the past and deal with higher intellegence and work out how to succeed. :)

pighead10 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Not sure what I actually had to do in this game, but it was good nonetheless.

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 5:09pm

The modelling is sweet and the mini-map is really impressive, but I have no idea what to do. Moving around is kinda cool, but it's frustrating that most the buttons don't seem to do anything. I like the little messages that pop up on the screen.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 5:25pm

Stange and atmospheric, with the messages coming in and figuring out what the controls do, no idea what putting those circles on the yellow lines does. Bit disappointed that there was no real game so to speak, but that it because the environment was compelling enough for me to want to stay there for a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]