December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Meteors: Look at them go

by Fonserbc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So here I have my first entry at a Ludum Dare compo.

I'm quite happy about it though I could not work on it and get much done on saturday.

This game has been made in Unity3D 4.0 in C# and JavaScript.
Sound effects with sfxr.
Graphics in Gimp.

I haven't done intro nor menu, so I'll have to explain what is the game about

/*** Introduction ***/

The game is about destroying the earth.
You have to guide the meteorites falling upon the blue planet and prevent them being destroyed by the human defenses.

Humans have developed a high technology laser cannon that orbits arround the globe at great speed, shooting at anything that dares to threaten the world's life.

Nuclear missiles from all the countries are being employed aswell to defense the earth.

The atmosphere is a great adversary aswell, so you need to keep your size to cause collateral damage.

Your goal is to cause as much destruction as possible. Not just by colliding the meteor you control yourself but by keeping the orbital cannon occupied while the others approach!


/***** Controls *****/

- LeftClick & Drag to move the camera arround
- WASD | Arrow keys to move the selected meteorite arround
- Space to impulse yout meteorite
- Double clicking on big enough meteorites makes the camera move to that meteorite


EDIT: Fixed not being able to move forward.

Thanks to VGAFIB.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#57Innovation3.78
#194Theme3.59
#253Graphics3.22
#276Overall3.15
#298Mood2.91
#335Fun2.89
#419Humor2.35
#508Audio1.93

Comments

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:08pm

I never did manage to crash my meteor satisfyingly into the planet earth, but it was fun trying! ;)

devwil says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:09pm

Very hard, but pretty cool!

caranha says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:17pm

This is a very different game, and I like the idea a lot. Watching the meteors approach earth while the small green turret tried desperately to defend it was quite fun.

But to be honest, I felt more like an spectator to the game than a player. I didn't manage to make a single meteor that I was controlling hit earth -- all the meteors that hit earth were by the computer. It was pretty to watch, but I didn't felt I was helping much.

Also, I know that in the space no one can hear you scream, but it would be nice to hear a satisfying "Crunch" or explosion every time a meteor hit the earth. Maybe some cries of despair? :-D

Nice little detail with the news ticker at the bottom!

Congrats on your first LD and your quite original idea!

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20pm

Looks great! Feels like avoiding the laser is based on luck, near the planet, though.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31pm

@caranha You are right, I did not manage to make the meteorite control as satisfying as I had imagined. I thought on making you able to "shoot" the meteors on a direction, making it uncontrolable, but faster.

Ran out of time. :)

Thanks for the feedback!

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Really enjoyed this one :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:55pm

Lovely idea! Also like the shadow-effects :)

Movement is bit wonky, as in "how do I move forwards". I move sideways, but "forward" (away from camera) seems impossible.

(Remember to upload the source, so it actually counts :)

Winterblood says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:26am

Really interesting idea, with lots of nice touches. Not really sure whether it's better to try to guide meteors home or fling as many as possible at the Earth simultaneously.

pnkthrepwood says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:57am

So hard, but cool!

The news messages that appear below are super fun :D

mjcorm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:12am

This is a pretty fun idea. I'd love to see this get a little more fleshed out and balanced. Right now it's difficult, but certainly not impossible. An enhanced presentation would make this a really addictive game.

budsan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:48am

Very fun game, seriously. It's also fun just stay looking at screen how earth is shooting you. And that news are awesome :_D

KrisKinD says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Man, this is great! So much fun!

gameXcore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:55am

Getting past that laser is impossible, a better idea would be to head the meteors to the moon and knock it out of orbit, lets see the laser deal with the moon coming toward the earth.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:24pm

Fun game and I loved the messages. Terraria players crafting phaseblades HA!

volando says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Good fun!

juaxix says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:53am

Wow, this game is gorgeous fun and creative,...also hard :D

Gungnir says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:00pm

Would've loved more options to thwart Earth defenses, but I think that's just a testament to how compelling the game scenario was. First time I think I've ever pitied a meteor...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]