December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A day in the life of a MINI BOSS

by cjgammon - Jam Entry

NOTE: No Audio.

"what are mini bosses doing before the player gets there". This was the question I asked, to get the full perspective of our villains. So I set out to make a goofy little game that answers this, where you spend a little while actually waiting for the guy to show up before you engage in battle. I didn't actually finish it as I didn't get to devote as much of the weekend as I'd wanted to the game jam. Right now you can't actually win, there's just some avoidance AI for the hero. Hopefully you'll get a general idea and maybe think it's funny. There's a lot of work to do yet, but the core is in there somewhere. Thanks for checking it out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#140Humor(Jam)2.72
#176Theme(Jam)3.24
#183Innovation(Jam)2.76
#269Mood(Jam)2.32
#281Graphics(Jam)2.35
#311Overall(Jam)2.18
#327Fun(Jam)1.48
#831Coolness41%

Comments

kill0u says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:29am

Nice graphics and idea :)
You should maybe say something on your game's page about the waiting, we don't always read the description on the entry page =/

crashbanito says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31am

Are these sprites ripped from the games? I don't believe that is allowed.

surpy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32am

This game has great potential, I would work on this outside of the LD, I would like to see the end project of it.

donmilham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:35am

Neat project, I appreciated the humor. I think I've learned some about the frustrations in the life of a MiniBoss. However, I note the absence of audio and lack of original graphics.

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:13pm

Interest

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:15pm

Interesting to know that "waiting for hero" to come gives me a sense good mood.

"TIP: ...", text shown at first gives a lot of sense preparing for thing to really come. Nice work.

leafo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:37am

interesting idea. the waiting is cool idea but it does get a bit boring!

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:46am

Interesting idea... though the sprites are ripped and there is no music. Yes, you mentioned that already in the description. Even so, this is a Jam entry, and I'm assuming you had the full 72 hours to work on it. Nice idea, don't get me wrong, but I just feel more could have been done, assuming you went the full 72 hours.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]