December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Villain???

by LemonTree - Jam Entry

Lemon Tree team proudly presents game about Villain. (lemontree-studio.com)

Tested on the Google Chrome and FireFox browsers.

Tools: cocos2d (java script, html5), box2d

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#54Audio(Jam)3.47
#100Mood(Jam)3.16
#101Graphics(Jam)3.62
#139Overall(Jam)3.12
#181Humor(Jam)2.49
#187Fun(Jam)2.71
#202Theme(Jam)3.07
#232Innovation(Jam)2.56

Comments

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 8:27pm

The web version didn't seem to load when the level started in Chrome. It had a dark fade over the top and didn't do anything from there. Look forward to playing.

LemonTree says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31am

2bugninja: Problems fixed. Thank you!

sqwarecircle says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11am

Sometimes if you fall at the beginning of the level, in front of the tree/spikes, the game freezes.

sqwarecircle says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13am

Actually the problem looks like it happens anytime you hit the bottom of the screen where there is no actual ground. Also you can fall through blocks when entered from odd angles or from the sides.

LemonTree says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:30am

Problems fixed. Update uploaded.

Wuhao says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:56pm

very nice music, what do you think about cocos2d-html5

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Nice game. Platforms seem a bit buggy when you collide from the side though.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:38am

Not bad, not bad at all. I'd say that this game is well done, except for some of the collision problems that have been mentioned already. If I had to, I'd say this is in the upper 50% of games in my list. I'd say be proud of your entry.

LemonTree says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:46pm

:DaGamesta Thanks!

I think main problem in fps and I such short time period for development (we did this game in 1,5 days and game physics was developed from scratch.)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Very neat graphics and sound.
I was a bit scared of those running mobs but they actually are harmless, that was a surprise for me :)

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:40am

Good music.

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:43am

Nice concept, great art, good music. I like this game.

johndb says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:03am

Very nice artwork, I loved the changes in the level as I moved through.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:27am

Wow, this is really aesthetically pleasing. I really enjoyed how you corrupt everything you walk across, really cool.

It's a tad bit short and there were some clipping issues (I got stuck once and had to restart), but overall it was really nice. Well done.

cdata says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:56am

This game is quite beautiful. I was really impressed by the tiles-beneath-tiles motif. I kind of wish that I was rewarded for revealing (destroying?) more and more of the level as I went along.

Yacodo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:21pm

Very nice game, but still some collision problems (pass through block, etc...)

Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:37pm

Very nicely done. Didn't encounter any bug, the music was great, and the game beautiful, if short and easy. As others said, it would have been great to have the "corruption" mechanic actually do something inside the game. Here it was a neat effet, but nothing else. Happy new year to you too, though!

Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Well I didn't really understand what was the goal but graphically, your game is nice. The transition into dead-tile is cool. Well done.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:10pm

There is a simple word for games like this: Amazing :) It is fun to bring death to the world.

LemonTree says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Thanks for all your feedbacks!

Collision problems because sometime fps is very low and game was not finished.
Also we didn't finish evil rabbits and a lot of other features.

Main game idea - our hero villain stole colors and life from world. But then he use these colors for creating Christmas gifts for kids.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:55pm

I pretty like it. But i had collision bugs very frustrating. And the controls aren't accurate enough for being a good plateform game. Anyway, i really like the gameplay concept. It's really moody to convert à beautiful tree in a dead one :)

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:34pm

Nice! I really like the defiling mechanic, it was fun to see what secrets were hidden within the dirt and what I could transform plants into. I just it affected the gameplay more, like maybe you could transform spikes into something safe for you. The platforming physics was a little buggy, but nothing show-stopping.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:22am

The concept is pretty nice. Liked to see how everything changed.

aare says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:04pm

I fell in love with the graphics. Good job!

Per says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:23pm

Nice game!
Liked the music and graphics.
Maybe the physics sim wasn't necessary for this game. I guess that box2d is partly to blame for some of the non-deterministic behaviors when the villain is thrown against the spikes at start :)

ahmed.majd says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Nice entry, gg

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:07pm

Great graphics! The controls could be smoother. The music is nice. Good job!

Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Lovely character. Also like the spikes :)

LemonTree says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 6:13pm

>>I guess that box2d is partly to blame for some of the non-deterministic behaviors when the villain is thrown against the spikes at start :)

2Per: It's not box2d. We did this physics in 2 days during ludum dare.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]