December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Happiness

by iemfi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Happiness:

You are a super intelligent artificial intelligence with one goal. To maximise happiness in the universe! Create as many 10kg units =) of happiness as possible.


System View:
Here you can control your ship with WASD, Q and E strafes. Mouse wheel zooms. Left click fires active guns towards mouse cursor. (WARNING: You need to add guns and engines at the build screen before you can do either of these things. Control tiles MUST be connected to the ship core by hollow tiles which have life support (solid sections must block them from space to keep the air in!) Click on a tile to check it's status.

Jump View:
Here you can jump to other systems or fix the system you are currently in. Click on a system to jump/fix it. WASD moves around.

Build View:
Here you can design your ship with available energy. The following block types are available:

Hollow: Hollow tiles form rooms in ships. All control tiles must be connected to the central core.

Solid: Solid tiles form walls, all hollow tiles must not be in contact with space to function!

Door: Connects hollow sections but otherwise acts as a wall.

Control: Required to place "GunRound" on the gun deck above this tile. MUST BE connected to central core AND have life support(air) to function.

Engine: Required to move around! Click on tile to rotate facing of engine. Engine will NOT function if blocked by other tiles.

Warp: Use less energy to jump to other systems.

EnergyStorage: Store more energy after processing each system.

GunAccelerator: Place in line in direction of "GunRound" to make projectile fire faster.

GunRound: Required to shoot MUST be placed on top of "Control" tile, if 2 or more gunRounds are connected then gun cannot rotate but you get a slight bonus to fire rate.

ClearBlock: Remove block and receive 50% refund.

Material Types: Material types have varying strength, substrate gives you more score, having larger open spaces also gives you a bonus to your score.

Notes:
XNA (windows only) sorry! Controls are kinda screwy since I tried to make the physics as realistic as possible (It calculates center of mass, moment of inertia, and all that fun stuff).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#185Innovation3.26
#466Mood2.61
#467Fun2.63
#474Overall2.79
#489Audio2.00
#530Humor2.06
#571Graphics2.37
#711Coolness47%
#722Theme2.05

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:48pm

It Didn't run, Let me know when it's working cause It looks like it's worth a play :)

iemfi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:01pm

You need to install the XNA framework to play XNA games :) http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Sorry for the hassle, next LD I'll probably try to go for HTML5...

Frolacosta says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Takes a while to get into but once you understand it this is a great game!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:36pm

I don't know what i'm doing, but i'm having fun.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:48pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:51pm

I DON'T KNOW WHAT'S HAPPENING! There are enemies in my ship but everything is solid :/ Things are weird, I just don't know... Seems kinda like you were going for something lke ftl but you build your own ship

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:03pm

Weee! Space! Gravity! How do I?.... Bah, nevermind this is fun :)

iemfi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:19pm

SmallDeadGuy: Enemies in your ship?! But the enemies are just the flying saucer things. Yes, was going for FTL but you build your own ship and fly it in real time. Wish I had more time to work on it.

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:19pm

really didn't know how to play... really surprised me when what i thought was a star didnt kill me...

TheH says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Couldn't figure out how to fire. I made a control and put a gun on it, but couldn't tell if I was actually shooting. Also didn't know how to actually process systems, didn't feel like enough of the scheme was explained. Might've just been a bug with my computer/version combo.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:36pm

The game was really confusing for me. Perhaps more comprehensive instructions would help.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Wow very interesting game bro! great job! :D

falnos24865 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:59am

Couldn't run this game. :(

Neonlare says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 6:47am

Sadly, I couldn't run the game either :(.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]