About | Rules and Guide
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 15 hours, 7 minutes, 8 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 15 hours, 19 minutes, 8 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 16 hours, 7 minutes, 8 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Evil Keeper - XmmmX - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Have you ever wondered what it feels like to be the endboss of a game? Well, here is a game that answers your questions.

    In Evil Keeper you have to build your own dungeon and fight every hero who dares to enter your lair. Each hero tries to find as many treasures as possible before he challenges you to an epic fight to the death.
    Claim the victory, take his money and expand your dungeon!

    Find more detailed information ingame.

    Programming Language: C# (XNA 4.0)
    Sound: sfxr
    Music: SunVox
    Graphics: Paint.NET

    This is my second ludum dare entry. The code is really messed up this time because I had no time to comment and optimize it so if you have any questions concerning the code feel free to ask.

    Info: If you have some performance issues press 'V' ingame once to disable frameskipping.

    If there are any bugs or glitches please inform me by posting a comment. I will fix them as soon as possible.


    Please enjoy my game as much as I did making it.

    EDIT: You can place new dungeon ground on gray walls next to grey tiles. The red area is the bossbattle arena. You cannot build there.
    EDIT2: Ok, I am going to make a post-compo version.
    EDIT3: Added the first post-compo version. I am sorry, I haven't had much time so it only contains small changes. But there is still more to come. The changelog.txt contains all the changes.

    View XmmmX's journal. | View all entries by XmmmX

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #210Theme3.55
    #230Audio2.83
    #315Innovation2.98
    #368Mood2.77
    #383Fun2.81
    #387Overall2.94
    #461Humor2.24
    #471Graphics2.69

    Comments

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:12pm

    It wouldn't launch

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:13pm

    Putting this one on a list to play at home.

    XmmmX says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:17pm

    @ParaPup
    What do you mean with "It wouldn't launch"?
    Did you install the XNA Framework?

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:30pm

    I had some problems with the controls but it's a good game. More traps would have been nice.

    Fonserbc says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:40pm

    Great game!
    What was tifficult to figure out is that the red blocks are the boss battle room and that you are only able to modify the gray blocks :P

    The battle animations are great and fun!

    XmmmX says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:52pm

    @TheCze
    Thanks for your review.
    I am sorry, I couldn't finish the game entirely but maybe I'll do a post-compo. ;)

    @Fonserbc
    Thanks for your review. :)

    Yeah,I think I should mention it in the description that you can only place new tiles on gray walls next to gray tiles.^^

    Ace says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:54pm

    Not too bad a game but the gameplay was a bit boring, you never seemed to have enough gold to really expand your dungeon or do anything fun.

    The boss battle controls were a bit confusing at first too, considering that you're able to move at will during normal play but not boss battles.

    delpes says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    Nice. Made it to lvl 11.It took me some seconds to figure out where i could build things and that i need to be in front of the hero to begin the fight.

    Aswissrole says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:57pm

    Can't seem to get it working. Seems to be my virus scanner going crazy. Damn you Norton!

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:09pm

    A bit confusing at first, but once I found out how to build stuff, it became much more clear. Like it!

    lorancou says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27pm

    Good entry. Fits the theme, this is actually close to one of my initial ideas :)

    I didn't find how to place furniture on my first run. Not very intuitive, things should just pop on the map once you've clicked them in the inventory. Also it took me a while to figure out how to start the boss fights, there should be a red spot "go there now". But nice effort overall, art, sound, gameplay, this all fits very well, just misses a bit of in-game guidelines.

    XmmmX says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:36pm

    @lorancou
    Thanks for your review. :)
    I am sorry,I thought I explained it well enough in the Help/Controls menu. I will try better next time.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:45pm

    Can't play windows only games. :-(

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:46pm

    Lasted for 6 rounds and 3205 points. Second Level 13 in a row killed me with just little hp left. I enjoyed the game. Graphics and audio were right on the spot. Overall, it was a fun game to play. Well done.

    tumoxep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55pm

    Awesome idea. Game itself is very enjoyable and makes a lot of fun to play.
    It would be nice to see character customization in post-compo version.

    Devenger says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01pm

    Pretty cool idea, but the combat was needlessly frustrating (sometimes you'd just teleport onto the hero's sword...) and placing dungeon tiles is so expensive, I can't work out how you could ever place enough tiles to hide any treasure. Perhaps if the hero's pathfinding was worse/more exploitable?

    I'd love to see this tweaked (or better explained?) so that I could have some fun with dungeon layout; I'll be on the lookout for a post-LD version of this, if you make one!

    SmallDeadGuy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:07pm

    Controls are slightly awkward, in terms of buying things. I don't like the actual boss fighting much but maybe because I'm not used to it. It seems like I use more money in preparation (like treasure) than I gain in a fight

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:45pm

    Wow nice work man! :D i also like how you can build your own dungeons which is awesome :DDDD

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:25pm

    Fun, but there are definite balancing issues with the cost of placing things, tiles should be almost free!

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:45pm

    Nice idea with some little reminiscences to Dungeon keeper for the Dungeon building and decoration. The only thing is that Arena fighting feels unnecessarily limited, I do not understand why I cannot move while fighting :( Also it is difficult to expand your dungeon in a wide way. I saw that the best mechanic to follow was creating corridos to force hero to advance in a twisted way on traps. Did to 8 level :D.

    jmaasing says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:41pm

    Sorry, can't rate since I don't have windows.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:46pm

    Great idea, good presentation.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:08am

    Couldn't seem to place anything in the dungeon :(

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:32pm

    Sorry, cannot play XNA games on Linux (using Wine). Maybe my Wine knowledge is just not up to snuff, but this wouldn't run for me. Sorry :(

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:41am

    Nice game, I also had problems with the controls during play.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:34am

    There's a good start to a game here.

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:22am

    Fun game but Dungeon tiles are way too expensive making the dungeon building experience less than it should be. Buying stuff should be easier. Prefer zip files as zip utilities come with every OS, rar utilities don't.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:04pm

    Very interesting game, it has a lot of potential! I really loved the boss battles. At first, I thought it was a little limiting that we couldn't control where we will teleport to, but after a while that style of battle grew on me.

    On the other hand, the game felt a bit repetitive. You probably need other furniture for the dungeon. Reducing the price for placing tiles would also help a lot.

    I loved the boss death animation! I hope you have some time to work a bit on the other graphics of the game.

    Thanks for the game!

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    I like the Dungeon Keeper way, the ambience but not your graphics. Anyway, your game is fully playable and has many features. Congrats !

    MortalWombat says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:35pm

    Doesn't start for me on Win 7.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:08am

    Crashes on start on my WinXP with DX9 VM. The "windows encountered a problem" dialog.

    XmmmX says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:25am

    @MortalWombat
    @zenmumbler
    Have you installed the XNA Framework?
    Has this happend in both (compo & post-compo) versions or just in one of them?

    Amos Wenger says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:22am

    I've never seen weirder controls :) It was still fun to play though!

    Looking forward to your next LD entry!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:38pm

    @XmmmX, yep, XNA installed, have run a lot of other XNA entries.
    I can't run the ones that are not compiled with the Reach profile but then I get a warning that my video card is rubbish, not a crash.
    If the app is 64-bit, I will get another error dialog for it. This is really an honest to god crash at startup.

    Same result for the post-compo version.

    FWIW, I uploaded the first bits of the crash report here: http://logic-dream.com/ext/evilkeepercrash.png

    XmmmX says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:37pm

    @zenmumbler
    Thanks for your feedback and the screenshot.

    I have done a little reasearch on the internet but I couldn't find a good solution for this kind of crash/error.

    I tested my game on my old pc with Windows XP and on my newer one with 64-Bit Windows 7 and it worked both times without a single crash so I can only guarantee that it works under w7 and wXP.

    Even though you said you get a different error message when a game is compiled with the HiDef profile I uploaded a new post-compo version which is compiled using the reach profile.

    I will try my best to fix this error as soon as possible.

    XmmmX says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:39pm

    @zenmumbler
    And I forgot, have you tried running it in administrator mode?

    Doublecaster says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:34pm

    That was awesome! I got to round 11. I liked it when you had low hp and you could spam the abilities.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:36pm

    @XmmmX, yes it's run with an Admin user. I tried your latest update, same result. I fear there may be some weird incompatibility with my install. It's a VM running in VMware which may trigger something obscure, even though all other entries work fine and I haven't had any issues with it. Thanks for your help but it's probably better not to put too much time into this. Best of luck!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:53pm

    Oh wait, I redownloaded the original entry, I got you 0.01b version and it worked! Huzzah. Got to level 8. Fun and quite a big game. I wish I got more money and more time per round to build out my dungeon. It's a fun section and now I can only break a few brick and set a few chests with traps. Art is clearly programmer art but you added details like the slowly down-drifting hat when you're defeated and other touches to add polish. Very nice entry and thanks again for your trouble.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]