December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

FireBreather

by Psytew - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Firebreather is an arcade-style game in which you take the role of a newly hatched dragon. Try to keep him alive and terrorizing, but as a single arrow or even a raindrop can kill him, it's gonna take a lot of fireballs to keep this dragon rearing!

Bonus: If you score over 500 points, I'll try your game no matter what (if web or windows). You need to have a screenshot or something though.

Current version: 1.2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#444Audio2.18
#461Humor2.24
#495Theme2.91
#603Innovation2.35
#614Mood2.27
#682Graphics2.06
#690Fun2.00
#708Overall2.24

Comments

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15am

Takes too long to fall from the sky! But I eventually established myself as a superb dragon among the people. Funny how a dragon's greatest threat is rain... :D

surpy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22am

I found it to be quite fun, at first I didn't have any score, but then I discovered you're supposed to burn things down. I couldn't get to 500 points by the way. I liked it.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28am

Can't play windows games. :-(

Skyshifter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:34am

I have a problem. After i start the game i cant move while im falling from the sky. Pls help :/

bach says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:31am

It does take forever to fall from the sky :) Music is a bit meh. But I enjoyed this. No way I can get to 500 points though!

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:38am

Bullets are a little bit to predictable and boring to make this game a proper touchou clone. I miss the quick "new game" button ;_;

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:47am

It took me about 5 or six runs to understand how to play the game then I got it. Only had a score of 136 though. I found a good strategy was to alternate between completely clearing out the ground then completely clearing out the sky.

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:47am

Oh my gosh that's hard, I think it takes to long for you to fall to the ground, and I also think it gets hard to fast. Other than that nice job!

zompi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:56pm

I was launching it multiple times but I can't figure how to play it... Maybe I'm stupid or maybe something doesn't work :( But you have a point for a dragon!

berkano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Neat! Only managed 142 points though!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:13pm

falling from the sky takes too long, and then you have to be lucky to not end up arrow firing once you're able to fly. Also please change the font, it's not really readable :P. And it's pretty hard besides that. Would be nice if you could restart from the gameover screen? Or can you.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:15pm

Had to play the game 3 times before I managed to survive long enough to actually play the game. Hated having to re-run the game in order to play it.

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:00am

Spelchan: You could press backspace to go back to menu.
But still, restarting takes to long because you fall from the sky. A replay button would also solve the confusion.

Datw says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:22pm

The game is too hard, and could use some polishing. It takes to long to fall and the font is really hard to read.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]