December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Storm the Castle

by vanZeben - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The concept of this game is a reverse tower defence game where you play the units. Send out waves of units to storm the castle!

One thing that I wanted to implement yet didn't have time to was dynamic level generation. I most likely will continue to work on this project and release it as a full game separate to the LD competition.

The fourth level should be impossible to beat since I didn't get the dynamic level generation working. Can you pass it?

You can check http://youtube.com/user/designsbyzephyr or http://vanZeben.ca for information :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#152Audio3.06
#263Overall3.17
#266Fun3.06
#271Theme3.43
#368Mood2.77
#390Graphics2.86
#426Innovation2.71
#430Humor2.31

Comments

lolzballs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18am

Awesome game!

Sintinium says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:39am

Love the game

Bevilacqua says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:40am

Love it!

Bcuzimawsum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:20am

Game is Awesome, I can't wait to get more levels!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:25am

Interesting idea. Could not get past 4 fourth level (I think). I found at least for the first three levels that if you keep your units separated rather than punched up more seemed to get through, which seemed odd compared to other tower defense games.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27am

Nice game, and interesting twist! I've seen a couple games similar to this in that they reverse the tetris ai and the player, or the typist and the word processor, but never in a storm the castle type game.

Graphics/audio were fine, could have been slightly more exciting, like with music, or more background content. Nice job!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:29am

Looks, sounds and plays exciting. Fun Tower Offense! Interesting level design. If you continue developing, I'd like to keep using mouse and not switch to keyboard between levels.

HBurd says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:29am

Fun!

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:32am

Nice prototype for something bigger. Keep on it.

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33am

The first level I died in (like 5 levels in) reset me to like 250 points, which was neither the amount I entered the level with, nor enough to complete the level. Sad times.

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33am

Fun game, music got annoying after a while though. Voice acting is always a plus!

madameberry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:34am

Goin' for the castle!

Ashkin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50am

While the music is enjoyable and the graphics are good, this game lacks challenge. Basically, all you have to do is find the unit with just the right amount of health to get past the obstacles and send as many of it as you need to win. This could be fixed by adding more decisions to make- maybe certain units could be good against certain towers, maybe you could pick multiple paths, or maybe you could strategically destroy/move towers around.

vanZeben says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:59am

@Ashkin, That was originally the plan, to have the units fight back, however time constraints wouldn't let me finish up. Im definitely going to be continuing development on this to implement the things I had originally planned :D

mattsolo97 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30am

Awesome game watched every second of him making it and even made the goat sound for it :D

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:20am

Very nice game! :) Could definitely be expanded on; it has a lot of potential.

theanprocks says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:54pm

Awesome game. I was at the stream!!! Wish you would continue

belk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:40pm

Cool game! The audio was really brilliant.

I was working on a Tower D, but it turned out to be a sandbox game (didn't get time to implement towers).

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:53pm

Nice work, though I agree with Ashkin, there's not much to do other than discover the right unit and then just spam it.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:07am

Cool game. I think the graphics could use some work, and it's hard to tell how much each unit costs. Also, does the game get destroyed properly? I closed the tab and the music continued to play and I had to end the java process. Could be just me though.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:15am

As the game takes a while to load, would have been nice if it gave an indication of how long it will take.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Very nice game! Music didn't play on reload for some reason, though. Nothing happened after I passed level 4 and pressed enter, so I assume that that was the last level. Aside from that, no complaints here, nice job!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:53pm

Idea is by no means new, but I liked how game was balanced, it was pretty fun to play.

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:31pm

Pretty cool idea. It feels more like a puzzle game, where you have to pick up the right critters to win one or two times, than a castle defense where you throw dozens of critters to get a few through the defenses. Maybe you need to do some balancing with the price of the units, and the number of life points of the enemy if you want the game to feel more like the later?

Pierrec says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Way too easy at first, then, SUDDENLY, way too hard. Can't beat what I think is the level 3 or 4 (Come one, you know which one I'm talking about!)
Anyway, this gameplay is very very very cool, and I'm being grumpy because it's very frustrating ^^
The best thing is, I think, that the game doesn't force the player to make "waves", but is clever enough to make us do it anyway (because it's more effective)

hyrumcoop says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:10pm

I beat level 4. The trick is to always send the units that are most expensive. They will give you more points. Then, on level 4, send the last unit like crazy until you are out of money. Repeat until you have beaten the level.

wds444 says ...
Aug 3, 2013 @ 6:18pm

SPOILER-
level one.
tank
wait.
sheep
level two.
robot
red baron(plane)
jet
jet
level three.
6x jet
level four.
spam jets til you win!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]