December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Unleashed

by jurnacsr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UNLEASHED - Son of Kracken.
Become the terror of the deeps!

GAME IS TOTALLY COMPLETE - Play away!

If you find errors, let me know!

You are the son of the great and mighty Kracken, and it's time to return terror to the seas. Destroy ships, find treasure, eat everything moving.

Updated: Boats now have defenses! They'll hit you with their spears, give you a cannonball, or use their armor to flee destruction.

Take a look around the map and see what you find! There are some hidden treasures about!

Be careful! Your destruction will not go unnoticed - the Royal Merchant Marine is always guarding their waters.

Added victory and loss conditions - game is functionally complete!!!!

Now with more awesome sounds!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Theme3.71
#200Overall3.29
#203Fun3.18
#265Audio2.71
#286Mood2.93
#295Humor2.73
#326Innovation2.94
#542Graphics2.47
#1081Coolness20%

Comments

RyanArcher says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 2:49pm

Haha thats pretty good :) Love the "nooo" sound effects :P

robashton says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 3:25pm

Hah, like it

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 8:27pm

That was cool

Ramuh says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:05pm

Funny Game. Getting to new Enemies takes a bit long maybe

pinion says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Fun game! Enjoyed luring ships into the vortexes and standing up to the navy.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:58pm

Ah ha, I can review it now - so my comment below still stands and now you have a rating as well :-)

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:02am

Hehe like it :D

namuol says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:30pm

Why hasn't anyone made a game where you play a sea monster like this before? It's awesome!

Not that this is a complaint really, but I found the game very easy -- I could probably continually play until I fell asleep or died of starvation.

The minimap is a nice touch.

The voice-acted sound effects are amazing. Bonus points!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:36pm

I like it. I couldn't figure out my main object, though. I like the graphics, and the free roaming. Radar was nice too.

bugninja says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:08am

Pretty good game. I had a little trouble getting into it and wanting to keep playing, but the idea is great, the sounds are funny, and you clearly did a lot in a short amount of time. Ultimately, I think I just needed a little more direction. I could only get the tentacle grab to work, the other one didn't seem to do anything??

gnx says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:08am

Great idea :) This was fun and well made, I like the varied attacks and the minimap is a great addition.
Some music would've been nice though.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:43pm

Great idea to play a kraken. Well done. As former people said, adding music would push the immersion.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Cute game and a pretty polished effort. Nice.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Ship AI could be improved. There was one port where ships couldn't leave, I found it stocked with about 10 ships, and racked myself up a level or two. Ships that aim for you shouldn't sit on top of you, but circle around you. It was easy to drop vortex and grab and be done. Difficulty was low, but it had an amusing art/sound style.

atraxgames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:10pm

Funny, maybe a little bit too easy!

gesangbaer says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:29pm

loved this, expand it ;)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:56pm

Nice working game. Easy to control and also challenging a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]