December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Disturb the miners!

by JacksGamesSucks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Crapy code because lack of time, but managed to finish. Used some algorithms created during previous LudumDare.
Enjoy and good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#301Innovation3.00
#371Audio2.41
#467Theme2.97
#572Humor1.95
#639Mood2.21
#661Overall2.41
#663Fun2.10
#709Graphics1.90

Comments

Logun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:36pm

I like the pitch.But I Dunno if there is some bug or if I didn't undertsand how to play.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:06pm

Please tell what is not clear. I will help you.

kewry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:57pm

needs a lot of polishing fun nevertheless

TheH says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:00pm

Interesting concept. With some work, I could see it working pretty well, currently just feels a little sluggish/slow paced.

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12pm

Like the premise and music, but I often get stuck in between walls :(

pzdr!

Beerman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Movement felt a little slow, and I had a hard time figuring out how the walls changed - kept getting stuck in a wall I'd flipped onto myself.
I like the idea though, could be fun with a bit more polish.

PaulSB says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Neat idea, though if the village and mine spawn quite close it's very tricky to make progress.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14pm

Good work for the time given. I would have liked to have a set-up phase before the miners come along so I could get more at-ease with Disturb the Miners!

I'd liked to have set-up traps or made the explosions kill / disorientate the miners but that's beyond the scope of the creation time available really.

I got stuck in walls a lot but quickly found out how to get by that lil feature and eventually died when around 4-5 miners were on-screen.

Overall an entertaining, if confusing at times, fairly fun game.

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:27pm

Nice, I kept getting stuck in the walls, but it was pretty good, and I like the idea.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Like the concept - good work with the time given. Movement was dreadfully slow, I kept getting stuck in the walls. Liked the music was like a dance party mine.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:32pm

Original concept, nice sfx/music. A bit hard to control what to do with the 'z', seemed very random. Also hit a bug where the home and goldmine started to bounce around without settling.

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:07am

Little buggy - monster often gets catched inside the wall. Also alienating house completly from the miners and separating them into two groups before put game in endless loop of changing the position of gold/house.

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:13am

I keep getting stuck in the walls, and the player is too slow. Fix those issues and with some work it could be pretty interesting!

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Interesting mechanic. The random shifting of walls (and getting stuck) are unfortunate.

Kuulog says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:47am

Cool concept, but I get stuck in the walls to easily.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Is there a chance to determine how to rotate the walls? If not, you should add such a mechanic.

Try to avoid key bindings like "Z", because in some other countries (like Germany), "Y" and "Z" are swapped. There are some keys which are not swapped (or rarely swapped) through language.

I closed all the paths from left to right and the algorithm which places the home and the goldmine swapped the places a very long period of time. You should avoid this, perhaps by placing the home somewhere and then making a probabilistic depth search from this location.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Interesting with a lot of potential but the controls were kind of confusing and a few times I had to undo the wall shift I just performed because I got stuck in the wall.

vandriver says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:36pm

i can dig it! but it does need a bit of polish in controls and exactly which way walls swap, as well as some means to prevent getting stuck in the walls you swap. i do like the concept quite a bit, though

jfroco says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:46am

Stuck in walls and monster is too slow, but the idea is interesting. Congrats.

Benjamin says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:59am

Great idea ! It feels like you're leveldesigning while monsters are still active :) You need to recal the monster when you spawn new walls. I think this idea deserve a more- than-48h version :)

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:55pm

No suitable gfx card found... :( You XNA guys making some fancy visuals ey?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]