December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sword Beats Vampire

by Certainty - Jam Entry

A Survival Game about a vampire who is thirsty for blood. Suck as much blood as you can from the villagers before the sun comes up but watch out for the guards. Use stealth to avoid them and see how much points you can get!
JAM Entry

UP/DOWN/SPACE - NAVIGATE MENU

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Graphics(Jam)3.82
#104Audio(Jam)3.19
#105Theme(Jam)3.57
#116Mood(Jam)3.06
#126Overall(Jam)3.19
#135Humor(Jam)2.73
#157Fun(Jam)2.86
#257Innovation(Jam)2.43
#831Coolness41%

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:21am

Hmm. Well, the web link takes me to a downloadable dropbox .swf file which didn't work. It said windosill crashed. I downloaded the Mac OS X file and when I double-clicked it, it loaded up Machinarium from my steam directory.

suve says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:28am

Really nice! The gameplay is very simple and quite enjoyable. I really like the graphics, they certainly took some sweet time. Music is fine too. Although I'd say movement speed is far too slow, it's getting tedious watching your character slowly strolling across the screen.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:31am

It's a good concept and it's fun to play, but it could use some programming polish, especially colliding with the knights.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:33am

got it to work by downloading it then opening the swf in Firefox. Nice game with good graphics and sound. The fly recharge is slow (note the exact same comment has been said of my game) and you drop really fast when you fall.

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:35am

Fun idea, a bit difficult at first to understand where to bite your victims. Would have been nice to have some sort of way to extend time while searching for victims.

Beanalby says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:35am

Music seemed oddly happy-go-lucky for attacking hapless villagers. :)

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:45am

good concept. it really hurts to be stabbed with spear...

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:46am

Like the graphics. It's really hard to avoid the guards. Also coincide with Beanalby in that the music is to happy to be sucking blood out of your victims :-)

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:46am

The download-and-open-manually thing worked for me. :D Thanks!

This is a fun game. Good job!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:50am

Protip: If there's one web link for all OS's, just label the first field web and get rid of the others.

Interesting game, but I found it a bit slow... would've been better if there was some goal instead of the time limit, I think.

Graphics were pretty good, although you should set it so that the game doesn't scale, because the pixel graphics don't scale well.

TDRGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:19am

Good. Smooth, responsive, not too fancy.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Great graphics, but for some reason it ran incredibly slow on my laptop. Timer still seemed to go at a normal pace though, which unfortunately made it really difficult to get anyone before the time was up.

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:38pm

Pretty cool! I couldn't work out how the hide action worked, do you need to do it when you're in front of certain areas? I liked how the music sped up towards the end

jfroco says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:42am

Great gfx, as already said music is little too happy, but nice tune. Congrats.

dcolgan says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 3:52am

I might suggest putting your swf file into an html page so it is easier to open. Some people might not know to open it in their browser.

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Well it's not very responsive and screen shakes on slopes. I don't know if this is because the game is so awesome or my PC is that lame...
The idea is good though. Also nice gfx and music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]