December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

KillTheHomelesses

by ahmedcab - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a villain without feelings who kills homelesses.
But beware of the rats they can kill you.

You move with the arrows.
You hit with the sword using the (A) key.

All music ,sprites and code were done by me.

This game was made using Game Maker 7.0 Pro.
The sound effects were made using bfxr.
And the music using Fruity Loops 10.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#228Audio2.85
#297Graphics3.10
#313Theme3.31
#426Mood2.67
#490Overall2.76
#510Humor2.09
#583Fun2.34
#706Innovation2.03

Comments

impulse9 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58am

Kind of awkward to play, but interesting mood. Well done!

ahmedcab says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:48pm

Thanks :)

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:08pm

That was quite cool and i especially liked the graphics which were quite fitting and the gameplay was fairly enjoyable. But what annoyed me was jumping and then immeadiatly dying and as a gamee this was quite frustrating that you inevitably will die

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:19pm

You can't really win or do new stuff but it's playable and have some nice pixel art !

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:15pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

luclabelle says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:19pm

the audio was way too loud for me. I also had a bug where 4+ dogs spawned on the first platforming making it impossible to jump on

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Something about his shirt being green is awesome to me, such a contrast to the theme. Nice work, cool music

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24pm

Good pixel graphics and the music's not bad. I think there should be a fixed number of rats though as they spawn too much.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03pm

Very nice! Two things I would change are the font, since it kind of ruins the retro feel (which was otherwise great) and make a clearer spawn point for the rats, since when they spawn on top of you you die without apparent reason.

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:26pm

Good graphics, good idea, but the random positioning of enemies made it hard to make it past certain parts. Great entry though.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:31pm

Sordid mood which was fitting for the game. Simple but non-annoying music and sounds. Pretty good.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:37pm

nice game. i like it, its simple, but complete in my opinion.
map could be bigger though

Tifu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:13pm

The rats will kill me, but the homeless men don't even put up a fight? Odd world, but fun :P

dansludumdare says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:38pm

Good title.

epiplon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:58pm

It felt a little pointless...

feili says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:14am

music is sad and you kill the homeless, feels like you're sad and you kill the homeless.

schnerble says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:43am

Hmmmm... maybe would help to seem a bit more jokey given it's a game about killing homeless... :) Anyway, the controls work pretty well (though I kept jumping too late), and the graphics and audio are effective, so good work there. It might help to have more of an overall goal than to just get the highest kill count, though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]