December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Tower Attack

by hallsofvallhalla - Jam Entry

Tower Attack is a reverse Tower Defense game. You are the villain attacking the Tower, or at least trying to make it through.

You spend money buying creatures and earn money by every step they take.
The more time that goes by the quicker and more powerful the guns become.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#223Theme(Jam)2.95
#284Graphics(Jam)2.33
#295Overall(Jam)2.38
#303Innovation(Jam)2.00
#309Mood(Jam)1.87
#310Fun(Jam)1.89
#948Coolness32%

Comments

surpy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:29am

I liked the idea. I did find some bugs but you are probably aware of them. I think the turrets get more powerful, which is unfair because my guys can't get to the other side and I lose a lot of points. The 1500 guys actually cost 1000. Just fix those bugs and add some more stuff, then this game is good.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:15am

Thanks for the bug report!!
I fixed the money cost issue.
I also increased the time before turrets get more powerful. They have to get more powerful as at a point you will have so many men you get tons of money.

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:32am

Interesting idea, well conceived. Nice job :)

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:38am

Nice take on the theme and tower defense genre.

FYI - When I tried loading it in Firefox, my players would not appear. It worked in Chrome though. I was on mac OS btw.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:42am

thanks for the comments, I will check out the firefox issue

Dew says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:42am

Damn too many money could'nt spend it all!

dwrensha says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:48am

Exponential growth!

tzamora says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:49am

nice entry

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:50am

that is why i have the turrets getting harder but it is a hard balance to get :P

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:52am

It's a good idea but there should be other ways to make money so the game lasts longer. It gets hard easily.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:47pm

Yes, not working in Firefox :( I just spawned a lot of 1000 monsters, and started getting money like crazy! :)

iamorim says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:39am

I liked everything. But I don't know, I couldn't win. Is it possible?

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:18am

I wish there was some sort of goal in mind, maybe have a castle at the end with an HP bar, or something to be working toward. It would be cool if I could upgrade the enemies I send!

I am a little confused about the balancing; so the longer I wait the more money I have, but also the more powerful the towers become? What's stopping me from waiting until my money maxes out and spamming the strongest enemy?

Nice job!

Joncom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:43am

Nice work :)

gnx says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:59am

Graphics are nice. The turrets do seem to nearly always hit the units and having little control over anything makes the gameplay a bit too simplistics.

Also it would be nice if you could win the game :D

Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:15pm

working on updates but of course not applying them till after the judging as not to cheat. Thanks for all the suggestions.

The main reason there is so much lacking is because the artist had around 6 hours to do the art and I had around 4 hours to code it all. We were both very busy over the weekend but wanted to get something submitted :)

Once again thanks for all the comments!

namuol says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:15am

Hehe... http://i.imgur.com/QmLXv.png

Felt good once I broke that barrier.


BTW you can put up a "post-compo" version of the game here -- it's not cheating as long as you make it clear which game we're judging.

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:25pm

Nice to see another impact game! I like the twist on the tower defense genre. Could have been a little more challenging though.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:03pm

Account suspended, couldn't access the game :(

Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:34pm

hmm weird try again.

AdricZero says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:11pm

Liked the idea. Starts way too hard. The towers seem way to powerful, they just seemed to always pick off my guys before I had enough cash to get more on the field. With some more tweaking and some sound this could get a lot better with just a little more effort.

AdricZero says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:23pm

As I said it starts out too hard. But I eventually got a few through to the other side and then it became too easy to rack up points indefinitely.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]