Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

DM's Rule

by surpy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The instructions are in the description here. Unfortunately due to me having to redo my entire AI, and to still have problems with it, until I figured out that I forgot to switch an X with an Y, I didn't get all the nice things I wanted to add to it. But it is still a game and still runable.

-STORY-
You are a DM. A hero (F) walks through your part of the woods and you decide to interrupt his quest by sending your minions (E) after him. Stop him before he reaches his goal.

-INSTRUCTIONS-
Use your mouse to place his goal anywhere you wish, that's on the grid. Then place your minions with your mouse as well, use your Left Mouse Button to place the goal and minion. After your last minion (5 minions total) the hero will spawn, be careful, this hero has the ability to randomly kill one of your minions at the start. Use your Left Mouse Button to control your minions by pushing the arrow keys on the side of the screen. You can move your minion by clicking the move then arrow keys in which direction you wish to send it. You can attack by clicking the attack button and clicking an arrow to choose which direction. Caution, you can only do one attack per minion and when you decide to do an attack you can't move that minion until the next go. Click end turn to move to the last minion, or if you are at the last one, then it will be the hero's turn. The hero is so quick that your turn will come up very soon after clicking end turn on your last minion, watch what minion you are on.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#579Theme2.67
#625Innovation2.30
#702Humor1.40
#733Mood1.58
#746Fun1.74
#752Overall2.00
#760Graphics1.36

Comments

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10am

Unfortunately, can't play windows games. :-(

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:35am

Do you have this available without an installer?

surpy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:42am

Is it not working? Can you install it?

dansludumdare says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:11am

I have an aversion to installing. I think a lot of people do, or should. I know you don't want to mess with my computer, but the fact is, installers mess with computers. Is there any way to make an installerless version with whatever stuff you're using?

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:13am

I had some trouble figuring out that you had to select move to move first. Why not be able to move first thing rather than having to select it? Pressing attack overrides it anyway.

I also encountered a bug where I couldn't attack the Hero if I stayed still and didn't move. Some sounds might've been helpful to tell me whether I was hitting or not.

Otherwise, you got the idea right. Good job!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:17am

The hero's health never seems to go down, and since there's no graphical or text indicators of what's going on, I lost interest in playing pretty quickly. It's a great idea, though. I love using a GM as a bad guy.

And surpy, he may simply not want to install the game. There are 950 games; if they all had to be installed...

myachin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:40am

says @Not suitable graphic card found...@(((

surpy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:41am

Okay, you should be able to get it without installing now. Please tell me if it didn't work.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:26am

Interesting. I think it would have been awesome if you added some audio, but the thing that brought this one down was the control scheme. Lots of potential, but you have to remember to fine-tune controls.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:39am

Surpy, I saw one of the comments above about the "no suitable graphics card" above and noted that you used XNA. If you haven't heard of this error before, it has to do with profiles in XNA; there is a Hi-Def profile (selected by default) that gives you more features but requires a DirectX 11 (I believe) device, and a "Reach" profile that works with DirectX 9 compatible devices. You can make this change to the project by right clicking on the project and selecting properties. Doing so will open the game up to more players.

surpy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:55am

The DirectX 9 should be with the no installer version of the game, it should be fine to play now.

Verrazano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:23am

I felt that the game was a pretty good idea, but it seemed you laked the time to really make it what you wanted - I'd like to see a post compo version. perhaps with some visual and sound cues for attacks and misses. also so music - I can't say much I was missing some music as well.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:31am

Graphics and sound were mostly missing of course, but I think a better visual indication of what is going on + a better AI for the hero would have made this better. Nice idea.

Hume says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:51pm

And thus I learned what DMs already know: putting a bunch of minions around the goal and mobbing the player isn't very fun.

The idea here is solid. What's missing is feedback: Hit? Critical hit? Hero uses potion?

Also, the opportunity to build an actual dungeon would be cool. But then the hero would have to do some pathfinding, so I can see how you might not have had time for that.

Anyway, I had fun. I thought I might lose. I lost minion #5.

surpy says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:33am

I really appreciate all the feed back! I am currently working on a post compo version of the game. It will include more sound and graphical ques. Some things more down the road I wish to add are: difficult terrain, more heroes, more minions, more customization, traps, and more!

Toadpud says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:14pm

Not very fleshed out as it is, but a good start.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]