December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Black Licorice

by swinestudios - Jam Entry

Black Licorice is fed up with being the only unsweet candy in the land. It's time those racists knew what it was like to be bitter all the time.

+ Unlockable challenge mode!

==Controls==
Arrow keys = Movement

Space = Action

Enter = Go back to menu

F4 = Fullscreen.

==Credits==
Bluelight55 - Lead Dev
pigrocket - Artist
hognip - Music Man

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Humor(Jam)3.38
#176Mood(Jam)2.77
#180Audio(Jam)2.67
#195Graphics(Jam)3.00
#205Overall(Jam)2.85
#206Fun(Jam)2.62
#230Theme(Jam)2.92
#239Innovation(Jam)2.54
#1048Coolness22%

Comments

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:17am

Not bad, not bad. It took me a while to understand how to play, but once I got it, I got it. I don't feel the villainy here, but the humor factor makes up for it. Those racist candies.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:50pm

Bashing the candies is too hard ( they escape too quick) and distracts from getting far. Love the whole idea.

halemaster says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:52am

I really liked this one. I understood how being the black licorice was a villain, cause that is some nasty stuff XDD Humor was great, and the sounds were good. Plus the inclusion of the grayed out "Challenge" makes me wonder where you'll take this game.

vids says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:02am

Fun gameplay, good work. Love the MGS Alert sound!

swinestudios says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:12pm

OP to pickle out some confusion.
@blackmagic after they see you, you can't catch 'em
@halemaster Challenge mode is unlockable! You've got to beat the game.
Thanks all for the feedback.

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:20am

it's okay. yet another stealth game, just with a kooky candy twist. the visuals are the best part -- they're cute, consistent, and very distinct.

also, licorice salty? really?

goerp says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:34pm

salty licorice? Are you by any chance Dutch ;)

goerp says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:38pm

haha, 'look at them', funny. I think this was a pretty unusual villain, which is good.
I didn't get to beat the game. I was a bit tired after playing som many games.

Neonlare says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 4:45am

Liked the twist of villains, licorice is never ever sweet. Funny, charming, and just, fun~

Fififox says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I like that game! Great mood too.
The only point that annoys me is that the background is a bit distracting, but that's not a big issue.

Good humor :D

Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Really enjoyed it!
Cute art, exceptional music!
I found it a bit difficult though...
Don't forget to include your source!

swinestudios says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:03am

We didn't include source because it wasn't required for the jam. But if you'd like to see the resources I'd be happy to post them!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]