December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

No Presents Sad Children

by hnjslater - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So I struggled to come up with an idea on Friday night. Came up with one on Saturday in the shower and worked on it all through Saturday. About 10PM I decided it was terrible and started again. Here is the result...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#263Humor2.84
#338Theme3.27
#489Audio2.00
#623Fun2.24
#639Mood2.21
#707Graphics1.91
#720Overall2.17
#729Innovation1.86
#831Coolness41%

Comments

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:15am

Haha, oh those poor children.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:46am

Oh No :O I liked it :P

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:54am

Nice, those kids look spoiled anyway

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Very funny idea, but sort of a poor execution. I guess it had something to do with only using ½ of the available time ;)

garygreen says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:30pm

I like'd it. It was straight forward, but effective. The graphics were cute too. I couldn't see anywhere that showed me my score though.

ming_tea says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:45am

I felt like a huge jerk playing this, nice job.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:22pm

Wee bit too hard I think.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:36pm

What... I... lol... cool concept.

ceronman says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:45am

Nice use of the theme. Well done!

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:11am

I really like the sound effects, and I also like that even though "You Are the Villain," you can't actually stop children from getting presents, in the end. The art style was fun. I wish there had been a little more complexity or one more feature, but overall it was an enjoyable 2 minutes.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]