December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sword of Truth

by rinaka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#55Theme3.97
#100Humor3.42
#158Mood3.21
#161Innovation3.31
#225Overall3.25
#226Fun3.13
#473Audio2.07
#513Graphics2.56

Comments

heloheu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:26am

I've found five endings so far xD

feili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:28pm

funny finding all the endings! :D

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:20pm

Loved that doing nothing gives a different ending XD

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:22pm

This is now my second favourite game of the competition. Lots of fun and I love the different endings. Well done.

Worse says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Very interesting concept. Maybe you could have made a more story-oriented game?

Floko says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:34am

Very nice , i like the way small actions can change the histor y so drastically =]

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:14am

McPixel-like in that you want to play and see the different endings. I think I'd have had 5 stars, or whatever, on the main menu to show what endings you'd found so that was the driving force of the game. had I not read the comments above I'd not really have known that was the point of the game. Should make that clear in game so people don't havt to read a wall of text on a site (which they won't) :)

TomSmizzle says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:09pm

Really cool, I love how simple it is and how much things can change. Nice job.

sev_inf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Cool game. Wish itr a was a bit longer.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:45am

I think I've found all 8 endings, having a stat a la PSX ending screens would be good to keep track of what you've accomplished. Interesting branching story-arc take on the genre!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:41am

Liked the idea of the game!
Good job!

rinaka says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Thanks for all the comments :) @Worse: yeah, I wanted to have more story elements and cutscenes but I had to remove more and more as I saw I wouldn't have enough time to make all the necessary content. I'll try to expand after the voting period. @GeorgeBroussard, zenmumbler: thanks for the suggestion, I'll try to implement it after the voting period.

namuol says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:17am

Really liked the different endings. Nice touch.

tcho_i_er says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:28pm

haha great game xD
I didn't notice the second ending, i saw it in the comments and it's lot of fun !
Good job !

lekochen says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:12pm

Love your storytelling and varied endings. Nicely done.

csanyk says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:27am

It's a complete game, but very short. Props for having multiple endings:)

mcc says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:31am

wish the audio was even a little better! i do like the idea of what you do affecting the endings a lot. makes me think of Storyteller

Joseph Miller says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I like the idea, and it reminds me of my game in many ways. The writing is a little melodramatic (as is mine), but I really enjoyed the graphics. I also appreciate that the game was compressed enough that finding different endings didn't require too much time. All in all though, the experience didn't elicit any strong reaction from me.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]