December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

against your past

by Tepuzquiquiztli - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Second Ludum Dare for me. It's a game where you fight all your previous versions. Between fights you have to choose an upgrade, so chose carefully :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#156Innovation3.35
#278Audio2.68
#317Graphics3.05
#389Fun2.80
#498Overall2.75
#505Mood2.53
#630Theme2.50
#661Humor1.64
#854Coolness40%

Comments

ratking says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:09am

The "previous" thing is genius, I'd like to see that expanded. Otherwise the gameplay is a bit awkward, I would rather make it a twinstick shooter. Nice entry nonetheless!

ratking says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:27am

BTW, don't forget to add the source code. For compo entries, this is mandatory.

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Awesome, we both made a game using this "your replay is the villain" mechanic... except in different ways!

The game gets quickly very hard, but fortunately it seems like you can't die so it's okay :P Maybe the power-ups could have been more powerful? Otherwise the game looks quite good, and the flow of the gameplay (fight room/bonus room) is neat. Nice job.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41pm

Thanks for comments.
I add the gamemaker file for the source.
In fact I wanted to add few more things like secondary weapon in power-up or a choice of character with different main weapon on start.
Difficulty is a problem and I think I will work on it in the future.

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:54pm

The controls are a bit difficult to handle, besides that it's a neat little game :) good job!

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:52pm

Forgetting that shooting is very hard it a nice game.

But I can't see my past really reflected in enemies :|

Gaeel says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Game suffers from being WAY too hard, but it's an awesome idea!

Gazok says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:49pm

Really hard, which is awesome. Very nice idea.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Somehow this game reminds me of some entries I played during last LD :) Nevertheless I like the mechanic and really dig the graphic-style. For me it was a bit too hard / or not rewarding enough. good work!

Jiyko says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Think I found a bug where I was able to go into minus health.
Nice up upgrade mechanics!

caranha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:22pm

The "Villain is your previous self" idea is very good, and very promising.

The "arrow keys + mouse" control scheme is a bit awkward. ASDW+mouse, or arrow keys + space button would be easier to use. Or better yet, make multiple options!

Also, the difficulty curve was a bit high, I'm not sure what could be done to improve that.

Thanks for the new idea!

caranha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Also, why is this game so large? 20Mb seems a bit huge filesize for the game. Are you using uncompressed images or sounds?

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Sadly I cannot play windows games. :-(

Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:13pm

thank you for all your comments.
I'm thinking of authorize diagonal movement for a later version. And use the space key for shooting is a good idea but I want to add secondary weapon on the right click.

For the pictures, I don't really know, they are all PNG or JPG at 72 dpi.

@Rex Peppers : I'm sorry, I don't know if Gamemaker can export for Mac or Linux.

angela says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:00am

What a great idea! If you expand on it, you might consider making the space bar "shoot." Using the arrows to move and the mouse to shoot was a little counter-intuitive for me. But awesome game - great job.

shatterhand says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 8:18pm

There's really no reason to use mouse button to shoot, since the mouse itself does nothing in the game.

Even if you want to add a secondary weapon ,you should use Z and X or Space and Ctrl or any other combination of keys, not the mouse.

The enemies move to fast, and some of them can actually move out of the screen, which isn't a good thing.

Other than that, solid entry :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]