December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Robbert

by JuiceBox Entertainment - Jam Entry

Our first LD entry, and first release to the world! :)

Your name is Robbert - and your goal is to rob the bank that is the building across the alley from your apartment, in a puzzle-adventure style with multiple stages.

Only halfway finished, this is more of a buggy demo than anything. Original plan was for more stages and lots of other cool stuff. Some things are rushed, and there are quite some bugs.

If you're having trouble with the item combination; First pick up the items in the rooms using spacebar, then click the items in the inventory to select them, all 5 items must be clicked in a certain order. Hint: The glock comes first, and the bullet comes last.

Once you've built the final item, you can press space to use it at a certain location on the rooftop.

If you make it to the second stage, you will have trouble walking into horizontal path ways as well - we apologize, we were not able to fix this in time, but are planning to fix it for the post-jam version.

Music is currently bugged and only plays once as well. :(

We didn't get around to adding sound effects.

Full version was planned to have 6 stages with different mechanics and puzzles to solve, and that is what we will do if we keep working on it past this jam as planned. Look forward to it!


Known Bugs/Issues:

-Music doesn't loop correctly.
-Squeezing through doorways and corridors can be quite difficult. Hitting corners sometimes causes you to glitch out as well.
-Some objects can be walked underneath.
-Rats don't animate properly and will stay still when they're near the player.
-Didn't manage to put sound effects in. :(
-Text doesn't display quite properly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#109Graphics(Jam)3.53
#197Audio(Jam)2.50
#225Theme(Jam)2.94
#250Humor(Jam)2.00
#250Mood(Jam)2.47
#255Overall(Jam)2.65
#261Fun(Jam)2.32
#262Innovation(Jam)2.39

Comments

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:43am

For some bizzarre reason, I really like the art style.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:03am

Hey, the download page says "The file you are looking for seems to be unavailable at the moment. Please come back later." I really want to play!

DrD64 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:14am

Sorry! The download link is fixed now. :)

sparkymc says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:00am

A few notes. When you walk into the building you still want to walk up instead of down so you just go in then out and have to consciously change keys. also you can walk under some of the boxes.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:10am

I don't have the bag or bow that is shown in your screenshot so i cant cross roofs..

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:40am

Sorry about the screenshot. The bag and bow were removed for now, and you do not need them to cross the roof.

Elisée says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:21am

I couldn't figure out how to combine anything, tried various combinations with all the items I got from inside the building but nothing worked.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:21am

O wait, I see what I did wrong, I'm sorry, my bad
nice graphics by the way

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:35am

To combine, you can select the items in order you want to combine them and press the combine button. The correct order starts with selecting gun first and ends with selecting the bullet last.

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:48am

I can't seem to figure out what to do. I'm on the rooftop pictured in 2nd screenshot and I went downstairs and picked up everything. What do I do next? I can't even read the text, it cuts off the rightmost pixels of every letter.

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:49am

I really like everything about this game, but.. I can't seem to play it.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:58am

Is it the sequence of selections that you seem to be getting stuck on?

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:20am

no, even if I select gun first and then bullet, then hit combine, it still does nothing.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:29am

You will need more then just the gun and the bullet, there are items that need to be selected between those two.

Zener says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:24pm

A good game overall , I like the concept of robbing a bank. Can't combine anything yet.

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Very fun, good work =)
A bit long the installation :-(

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:14am

I really love the pixel art and what I heard of the music was good too :) The gameplay concept is good but I only worked it out by trial and error in the end, I couldn't tell at first that I was on a rooftop. Overall a great start to what could be a really cool game.

Keevor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:15am

The combinign puzzle was cool. I couldn't really get through the maze though(not becuase it was impossible). i really dig the art style.

Meep says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:30am

I really love the art. :)

BrothersT says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:21am

Selecting the items in order to combine is a very frustrating. The order you choose the items in makes verry little sense. I spent most of my time in the maze trying to fit through the little passageways. The size of the tunnels must be almost the exact size of the character's collision box? However I really like the pixel art, and I'm a sucker for point and click style item use so I look forward a new version if you're going to make one :) I would love to play this if it was more user friendly. Also you might like to know that the music doesn't loop! -Rob

mcc says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:11am

i like the art style. the audio was pretty good too, until it abruptly cut out. i don't like the combining object mechanics, and i couldn't figure out how to move past the first couple areas. i'm sure there's a solution, but it doesn't seem particularly intuitive to me and i got frustrated.

triplefox says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:03am

I would have liked to see this in a more finished form.

triplefox says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:04am

(by which I mean, I really like what's there!)

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:31am

Phew, beat it. Those rats were annoying. It seems like this is a good game, it just requires quite a bit of programming polish, aside from the combining of the items being confusing. I thought I was only supposed to combine two at a time, like in escape games. I'm sure this was a good learning experience for you guys, though.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:10pm

Art is cool. Fun. Going up into the building and up to exit it are in conflict. Couldn't figure out how to climb the roof after finding everything in the basement. Loved the music, sad it didn't loop.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]