December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Twisted Minion

by Justin Kibbe - Jam Entry

Find out what its like to be the minion! Prevent the hero from getting your treasure. As the adventurer moves from room to room you get a new chance to kill him. Good luck.

Controls:
Attack - X
Move - Arrow Keys

To play: Unzip to anywhere, run TwistedMinion.exe

coding, music - Taylor O'Brien
coding, art - Justin Kibbe

UPDATE: The game was meant to have more levels and the adventurer health had reflected that making it impossible to win (without exploiting a known bug). His health has been reduced to allow people to win with the levels we have.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#255Audio(Jam)1.64
#273Theme(Jam)2.56
#291Innovation(Jam)2.11
#298Humor(Jam)1.43
#308Mood(Jam)1.88
#323Graphics(Jam)1.67
#324Fun(Jam)1.59
#326Overall(Jam)1.85

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:09pm

I was playing for only a minute and it quit/possibly crashed.

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Final version is now up!

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:48pm

I don't mean to be mean, but I personally didn't like this one. Its very easy to glitch out the hero, and if you don't, then its extremely hard to win. Either way though, all that the strategy boils down to is to mash the x button. The graphics are pretty sub-par, but not to the point where the game is impossible to play, and the music is pretty bad. All in all, I think you should start over. There's not really much with potential here IMHO.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:47pm

I kinda see what you were going for but this game really needs some polish. Basic graphics are fine but everything is grey and so is the floor.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:51pm

It's a nice idea, but too easy to glitch out and beat. The graphics were okay, but a little too bland. If you fixed those two things it would be awesome!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57pm

Nom nom nom I win.

It seems like the aim of this game is to get the hero stuck so you can kill him, otherwise his health is too much and he just wastes you.

It feels kinda like the core gameplay element is based on a bug.

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Almost impossible to kill that black'n'white kenny! What I didn't like was the music which was a bit disturbing and tiles could be less bland. Fight could involve some more tactical fight so it doesn't seem like rage-hitting the X. Well, good job on completing the Ludum Dare :)

wally2069 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:35pm

Hero has way way way too much health and I lost on five consecutive playthroughs. Needs a lot of polish.

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:31pm

See the updated descriptions for details, but we reduced the hero's health to scale with the number of levels we were able to finish. Should be winnable now. :-)

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:13pm

I liked the villain graphic but the sound was quite grating. I agree that the main game aspect is kind of a bug. Perhaps you should polish it up a bit.

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:44pm

There seemed to be something weird with the transfers, like I'd go through a "door" and reappear in the centre of a room. And that guy was unrelenting!

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:50pm

So... an interesting concept, yes, but you've given the player far too much of a feeling of being underpowered. The graphics and the music leave a bit to be desired, especially considering this was a Jam. I encountered your bug the first time and won, but it seems a little too unpredictable whether or not you're gonna win without the bug. You should also try static-linking your libraries so there isn't so much junk in the folder for your game. Did you use Allegro, by chance? If you started from scratch with Allegro, I can actually totally understand how this went awry. It's relatively bugless, though, and I think it's an OK job, keep learning and keep up the good work!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Why not progressing to work? Just make a post-compo version with additional content and the fixed bugs :)

shatterhand says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 8:15pm

How did you come up with 42 mbs for such a simple game?

Neonlare says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 4:43am

It's a nice idea but it is unfortunately a bit glitched at the moment. Gameplay was pretty unique for the while I was able to play, before it crashed sadly :(.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]