December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Space villains

by GagaPete - 48 Hour Compo Entry

= Description
A simple canvas based strategy game. You'll have to choose the best upgrades for your aliens to beat as many of these hero ships as you can.

= Too simple?
This game is very feature minimalistic (no menus or sounds). I was unprepared since this is my first LD.

= Problems
Anything wrong? I tested this game in the latest Chromium and Firefox versions. So if your browser can't run this game, please try one of these. But first, try reloading.

Is the screen too big for your browser window? Resize the window a few pixels should fix it.

= Future
Maybe I will implement more features and fix bugs after the voting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#410Innovation2.75
#503Theme2.90
#646Graphics2.15
#701Overall2.25
#705Humor1.36
#718Mood1.79
#758Fun1.65
#912Coolness35%

Comments

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:02am

Nice idea, but should be more user interaction somehow.

galchwyn says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:16pm

Breaks for me on Chrome: 'name is not defined'. Works on FF pretty well.

Komradus says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:14am

Good concept but the progression of the game is rather slow.

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:38pm

the window seems to be too big for some resolutions (1366x768 here), and the ship AI is a bit jittery

GagaPete says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:26am

Thanks for your feedback.

I know that the game progresses to slow. First I wanted to implement a fast forward function so that the player can control time but I ran out of time so I skipped that feature.

If the canvas is too big, try resizing the window a bit. I can't get that bug fixed in time. For some unknown reason the window isn't calculated right on load.

Madball says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:17pm

It has potential, but it's too slow. The enemy takes too much time to defeat, and it gives just 100 points. You should've been set it to about 1000!

I don't think current upgrades allow much strategy. Shield and health both raise the time to kill an alien, and without knowing the detailed use it doesn't matter what to choose. Firerate decreases time to kill the enemy, and gives more chance to shoot an enemy's bullet, which also raises the time to kill an alien.
You should make it more strategic, like adding special abilities to the enemy, so we have to give certain upgrades to certain aliens to win.
It would be nice if you made a post-compo version.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:22pm

Neat idea, upgrade the aliens.
And, damn, those are some UGLY aliens!
Only problem was, I upgraded a few guys, then ran out of money/points and didn't get anymore.

PaulSB says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Nice idea for the theme, unfortunately it's just not that fun to play: it doesn't feel like your upgrades are having a very meaningful effect. Maybe finite upgrade choices with a major visible effect would be more satisfying. But good concept!

lucasncv says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:39pm

Neat concept, but the upgrades don't seem to change much.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:27pm

Okay, since this is the main complaint here is a "cheat" to make it more interactive. That's more or less a bug fix but I'm unsure weather I could fix this based on the rules.

javascript:g.speed=2;g.hero.health=13;Hero.prototype.health=13

Cyboot says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Thats a nice idea (I was surprised not seeing so many "reversed games", like this or reversed Pacman) but unfortunatly not that much fun to play.

But hey, its your first LD. Maybe you can learn from it for further LDs.
Good job nevertheless.

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Nice take on the idea. Altought it would be better if you could get more points somehow, like hitting the black ship so you can upgrade the aliens further. Also if they have health you should indicate how they are doing or else it ruins the tactical aspect.

And I can't belive how slow this runs. There should be a lot of awesome world changing calculations in the background in this awesomeness - like it runs Seti in a 1000 instances in the background or something.

But don't worry! You will be better and better with each jam you attend.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]