Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

IWKTP - pereubu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is about you, the typical villain, trying to face the entier hero-world and keeping your princesses away from 'em.

Use arrows to move and clic to shoot, beware of the recoil or you'll maybe get out of the screen.

Beeing the villain for me means beeing alone facing the entier society, trying to keep what you get away from them, protecting it. The villain never wins, a survival where you have to stupidly shoot at everything was, for me, the best choice. Even if this game and way to use the theme is a bit classic, i hope you'll enjoy it.

Music is a bit of a surprise but i have to say the credits goes to Wagner ( yeah i know, its a spoiler 3:)



advice for any player that (i'd be happy) would like to play the game more :
I was unable to make the score feedbacks so here's how it works :
get 1 princess you'll get x2
get 2 princesses you'll have x5 and enter fever mode
if you continue on fever mode, the number of heros (ennemies) will greatly increase.
and this until you get hit and get your score multiplicator back to 1

View pereubu's journal. | View all entries by pereubu

Ratings

Coolness79%
#19Fun3.83
#34Graphics4.17
#38Overall3.80
#58Humor3.63
#59Mood3.55
#61Audio3.44
#156Theme3.68
#367Innovation2.85

Comments

pikmin4000 says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 7:24pm

Sweet graphics, although the enemies easily become too powerful

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 9:26pm

Yeah i was actually fixing it after some late playtest, i hope it's now ok

SharkApple says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:36pm

Dude that is awesome, great work man

Now I wish I'd put sound in my game..

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:42pm

Ok, this is the best game as far I've played! Silly, funny and... Come ooon, Jigsaw i so cute :D

Nik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:34pm

I really liked it, nice work. I found the graphics really professional and the game did make me laugh.

pereubu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:40pm

@Nik thanks, that means a lot for me D:

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:56pm

Amazing work. I'm not playing a lot of arcade games, but I loved this one.

The three characters are very different, but it seems like they all have a fair opportunity to kill all those damn blonde knights. Very nice balance between that, even if they're all fun to play.

Really well done !

CappaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:20am

I really like what you did with the backfire. It's a little bit too powerful, but I think if you balance it a bit more it could be a fun game mechanic to play around with.

Pol says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:07am

yuh <3

Nanolotl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:00am

Loved the graphical style. The character variety was good.
The recoil felt especially good on the shotgun. Also, I found the music quite amusing.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:05pm

You only missing to share you scores on Facebook ... nice game!

Maristak says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:59pm

Very well done. Loved the sound effects

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:18pm

Very nice cartoon-style artwork. I was going to scold you for having someone else make music in the solo-compo but then heard it and thought, Oh, Wagner! Actual Wagner. Ha. Anyway, fun and hard but I kept clicking outside the window (there's likely a fullscreen option I missed)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:47pm

A3wesome mood

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:48pm

cool, very good job! i like 3 characters to choose, i like sounds and music and graphics...gameplay is really nice

sev_inf says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Awesome gameplay, music, sound effects and of course graphics. 5 stars for all.

master4523 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:51pm

I love the graphics and the music, I think the weapon's knockback should have been slightly reduced

pereubu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:32pm

thanks, thanks, thanks a lot, makes me very proud :3

Markavian says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:35pm

Not sure about the 8-bit wagner, but good graphics with lots of flames/bullets enemies. The AI reminds me of the problems I had with my last LD entry 'cause they can only really walk straight towards the enemy rather then attacking from distance.

Beerman says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Love the graphics, the music and the idea, the recoil effect is very cool. I just can't get on with mouse+keyboard for arena shooters though - twin-stick controller support would really make this great.

pereubu says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:04pm

thought about gamepad, but i don't have any, and i suppose many players have the same problem :[
Cmon, i did 10k during the tweaking, try to beat it

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Wow nice graphics :D, very fun too ! :D

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Awesome graphics and animations. This is a GameMaker game but it feels almost like a great little Flash game that you'd see on NewGrounds or something. Great fast paced action. Gameplay is a little tough to get the hang of, but it works fine after you get used to it. Also, nobody else seems to have mentioned it, so I guess I'll do it: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/rules/
The music you used is fine for the Jam but not for the Compo. A way around this would be to either enter the Jam or upload two versions for the Compo... one without music for judging, and one with music for casual enjoyment.

pereubu says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:05pm

herrr, okay thanks a lot, i don't know if it's too late now, i'll do it and i'll stick to this rule for the next LD :D

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Why do people keep making rars? :-(

jerrre says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:48pm

I like that you get pushed back when you shoot! make is it more interesting

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:19am

The characters are pretty interesting. Adding WASD would make it more accessible.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:49pm

Quite a fantastic game, presentation, style and flow! Got a little bit too hard but damn it was a fun ride :D.

shatterhand says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I downgraded you a little bit in the audio rating because you shouldn't be using music that's not yours in the Compo.

Other than that:

Lovely graphics. The gameplay gets repetitive very fast, but that's not a real problem since the game is fun while it lasts. The option of 3 different characters is pretty cool and, like it has already been said, they are different and balanced enough so the player may want to play with all of them (I liked the Shotgun guy the most, while my best results were with the flamethrower guy)

The recoil thing isn't bad except by the fact you can get ouf of the screen. Why did you leave it like that? This really shouldn't be like that.

Overall a very nice game :)

ddionisio says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:18pm

I love the graphics style, pretty fun game! I enjoyed playing as all 3 characters. The robot I feel was the hardest, rapid-fire with a lot of kick-back.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]