December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Tower Defence

by Julgodis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You the zombie leader and you need to kill, send your zombie solder through the village defance.

There is no tutorial in the game so here some tips:
1. You have 200 seconds on every level (Zombie can only walk at night).
2. Upgrad zombies by press 'B' to open the Upgrad menu in game.
3. There is 30 levels, and every time you play the levels they look diffrent.


The game was made in C# XNA, Paint.NET and GarageBand.
If you cant start the game please install:
- .Net 4.0
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
- XNA 4.0
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Thanks for playing my game (:P)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#192Fun3.21
#251Audio2.76
#282Overall3.14
#313Theme3.31
#388Mood2.73
#421Innovation2.72
#460Graphics2.72
#490Humor2.17

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:49am

This is one of the funnest games I've rated so far. :D

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:51am

The presentation is alright (graphics and sound), but I found the game too easy. I could win by simply spamming an endless stream of zombies without any kind of tactics involved. Of course, I know it's hard to make and then properly balance a game like this in a short time.

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:28am

Nice game! Wow, level 30 is hard. If you don't have tons of money saved up, you can actually get stuck there.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04pm

:D Tower defense the game I like ^.^ well done :3

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:08pm

Nice TD overall.

naxum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:08pm

Hm, I actually can't play it. I unzipped the rar (which you should make a zip next time), and ran the exe but nothing pops up or happens. I'm on Windows 8.

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12pm

You can almost beat the entire game just with the second zombies ;)

TheH says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:38pm

decent concept, but I found the balancing to be quite out there. all the levels, save for the last, could be beaten easily by just clicking one button like mad. then the last level became too hard.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:47pm

I really liked this one, the only problem is that it gets obsessively hard later on in the game. I couldn't get past level 23. Nevertheless, this game was really fun, the graphics and sound are nice, and fit the game perfectly! I really hope you continue this one.

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:21am

Very nice game! Only thing I wanted in level 30 was a reset button, for the moment when I was out of money and just had to wait for the timer to go out, so I could retry the level..

Tsuk13 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Other than the audio being kinda quiet it was a really neat game. Like the idea

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:10pm

I tried to run the game but it immediately crashed. I'll try again later on another computer.

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:11pm

Balance feels a little off. Could use rate-limiting on the zombie release.

sanderman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:18pm

Nice game. Sort of a reverse tower defense. It runs very smooth and graphics are okay. Audio is a bit soft though.

Balance could use some work. Most levels are incredibly easy by spamming while the end is a huge difficulty spike.

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:18pm

I liked the inverse TD idea but like others said already, almost the whole game can be completed by zombie runners. I had problems from level 21 though.

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:49pm

This was a lot of fun! First tower defense game I like!

Benjamin says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:07am

I think that money reset on each level would make the game more interesting. Instead of tryin to find a good solution, I just try to save the most money I can for the next level. It's spoiling the spawning fury fun of the game imho.
With a fix ammount of money for each level I could waste all of my extra money and start thinking when things get more difficult.

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Won't start somehow. It literally don't do anything. :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]