December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Demons in Dungeons

by blay09 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A few notes:
Bugs have a maximal building range of 5 tiles. It's a bit hard to see, but the build goes more transparent when it can't be built there, sorry. You can also only build on floor tiles.
There are three resources, you get all of them by killing enemies either through traps or fighting.
Souls are for spawning monsters, bones are for building traps and buildings and blood is for research in the Blood Bath.
Check out the Help button to learn what the buildings do.
Units mainly only differ in health/speed/damage, but ninjas and buttermouses do not activate traps.
If you get stuck, try changing your tactics.
Use spike traps in small corridors where you can predict where people go, place poison traps close to your heart to continously harm people attacking it. Piston traps are very effective if humans have to walk by a lava pool.

How to run:
Extract the archive to an empty folder and then simply doubleclick the .jar file.
On a console:
java -Djava.library.path=./ -jar DemonsInDungeons.jar
Make sure to have at least JRE 1.6 installed!
Note: I can't test the linux and mac archives, so please tell me if it doesn't work correctly and I will fix it. In any case, the Webstart version should always work.

Warning: Does not include goats! Well, maybe a mutated goat or something.

Story:
While humanity was doing fun stuff that included laughing and singing and happyness, the evil forces of the abyss have been working to destroy the world. With their immense power they managed to open up portals to the overworld, allowing them to destroy everything and turn the planet into a living hell. Humans didn't really like that and probably got offended by it, that might be why they're now bravely entering those portals attacking YOUR realm. You're the right hand of the guy who leads all the destruction. Make sure to keep the dungeons safe. Place traps and kill everyone. Summon monsters and kill everyone. You can also do both, at the same time, which is rather convenient for your job. Just make sure that your dungeon does not get destroyed. Each dungeon has a pulsating "Dungeon's Heart" which keeps the dungeon alive. Take care of it and your master will be very proud of you. That's all.

Controls:
The controls are mostly based on the mouse and very simple.
Left click selects, right click performs an action. You can also left click and drag to select more than one unit.
Double clicking a specific type of unit will select all units of that type in a certain range.
Alternatively, you can use the arrow keys to navigate in menues or move the camera around.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#236Audio2.82
#260Mood2.97
#389Theme3.16
#430Humor2.31
#487Overall2.77
#495Innovation2.59
#511Fun2.53
#535Graphics2.50

Comments

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:39am

Good atmosphere, funny sound effects, but too hard.
Love to see whats happening in the last level. :)

celeron55 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:41am

This is way too hard, I can't finish any level.

Not too bad otherwise...

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:00am

This game is either too hard, or not well enough explained. I really like how I can put down stuff, but when I can't put down any stuff and I have these merry men who..err..die.. and uh...
Anyway, it's kinda confusing.

- It could've used a tutorial, with all dem features. (Beyond the help screen, which was only minorly informatic)
- I really like how you added many features, but like I said, it's confusing.
- The enemies maybe were going a bit fast, but then again, I might be getting old.
- It needs more feedback. Why can't I put something somewhere? What does it do in the first place? Stuff like that.

tim_u says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:18am

Not sure if this game is hard or just short on feedback. But it looks like a lot of effort was put in. With the tweaks Gemberkoekje mentioned, this could be really fun.

namuol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:25am

I think it's fair to say that this is a pretty ambitious game. RTSs are fairly rare among LD entries.

I have similar complaints to the others regarding the interface -- you really just need to build in more feedback. There's no way to know how much each unit costs to create, for instance (as far as I can tell). The graphics could use some polish, but they get the job done.

I like that your resources are essentially just the carnage from the enemy. Kinda reminds me of salvaging metal from the wreckage of a battlefield in Total Annihilation.

sanderman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:47am

An ambitious concept.. an RTS is.

As the others pointed out. Some descriptions of unit capabilities and cost would help to make sense of things.

Also building stuff seems to take two actions: placement, and ordering unit to the spot. This is gets old fast.

With a little polish, this could be a very fun game.

Ps. Is there supposed to be audio? I'm not hearing any. (Windows/Web)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:49am

A surprisingly large amount of stuff in this, but the difficulty is crazy, I got past the first level, and then the second completely stopped me.

blay09 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:56am

Thanks for the feedback, everyone. I added a few notes for potentional newcomers giving a few tips to the description. I tried balancing stuff out (I also let someone else play and adjusted things to make it easier) but in the end, the time ran out. Although the numbers suggest it, the levels are not really ordered after difficulty. They do get harder the higher their number, but I found Pyramid for example fairly easy. Should probably have switched it with the Four Portals level. @sanderman: Yes, there should be audio. Did you check if you disabled sound for Java in your mixer?

kannas says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41am

some animation or sound for the attacks would be good. Maybe even raise the HP of the minions.

Even so, i like the game and the audio :D

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:49am

Nice idea for a game. I'm so glad that you put in some instructions. But those instruction only tell you a little about what you need to know. It doesn't tell you how to build, how to move your bugs, what the different people do or what the different parts of the interface mean.

I like how you've put the game together however. The humans move, for the most part, in a sensible fashion and the graphics are ok. It's just playing it that's very difficult ^^;

BiceMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50am

Great mood with great atmosphere. Good music selection graphics were ok but with low contrast making it a little hard to see details of gameplay sometimes. Very hard and confusing control scheme. Overall good effort.

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:54am

Great game! Fun to see an RTS too! Was really hard to understand what to do and what everything was. I think tool tips when holding or clicking on things, like saying what they do, or how long you have to wait for that upgrade would be great.. took me a while to figure it out, but I guess it works a bit like zergs in starcraft.. still only bet the first level tho, tried some of the others. Was a bit annoying that my traps killed my own units too. Great work! Very impressive!

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Can't seem to get it to work, OS X 10.8

blay09 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:22pm

Alright, taking the OSX link out since I can't provide proper support for it. Thanks for reporting.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:25pm

I must say I really dig this game. I agree with a lot of the other comments on usability and explanations. But if I keep in mind that this was done in 48h, it is really a large number of features implemented and it is actually working as a game. Well done!

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:13pm

a hardy, but a goody. Challenge is always good, nice work!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:17am

Nice one, Blay.

I was impressed with just how large the game was. Lots of interesting mechanics, nice graphics and a bunch of levels.

Hume says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:35pm

I hate to beat a dead horse, but the lack of playtesting and balancing was a real issue.

A game with this much thought and effort behind it deserves a slow ramp up so we can really appreciate what you've done.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Can't get past the first level, but the game both looks good and feels good. And it also seems like a very big game for 48 hours, very good job!

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:31pm

Can't seem to make it work... I get this error: java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/newdawn/slick/state/StateBasedGame Ubuntu 12.10

blay09 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:19pm

Linux version should be fixed now. Forgot to include the lib folder.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Complex game. Good job.

Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:07pm

Missing lwjgl natives on 64-bit Linux, it seems?

Gornova says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:49pm

works fine with java7 on windows xp!

nice game, well done! it's a bit too hard?

tip: promote yourself on slick forum!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]