December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lord of the Dungeons!

by LittleGreenFlame - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Second LD, first semi finished game. The mechanics are very interesting in this game, and I think you'll like the music I made for it too :) There is a separate music track for the credits, so make sure you play through to level 9.

Hope you like it!

Thank you everyone who played my game! I'm sorry about the multi-monitor issue, that something I didn't account for in my coding ]= The game is very unpolished. I would have liked to add health bar on top of the monsters and hero but didn't have time, and also I need something to happen when you kill the hero. Have the stats appear on click instead of on mouse-over is a great idea. Sound effects is something I wanted to add but ran out of time. Also, the Armour stat doesn't do anything, so I wouldn't put any points into it :) The main menu is makeshift, and I plan on adding much better instructions in the future.

Bug - when you place a monster on top of another one, neither monster can move. I know how to fix this I just forgot =/

I used C#
Paint.NET
& LMMS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1048Coolness22%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Ahhhhhh this goes really badly with two monitors! Not something you were expecting I imagine, but still. Luckily you included the source so I will try and edit out the full screen and see if I can actually play.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Couldn't work out how to fix it I'm afraid :(

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Can't run it. It throws a generic error screen without any useful info.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:48pm

No idea what was going on. Loved every second of it.

Atomic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:50pm

The idea of tower defense with monsters is quite cool but the "status" screens get in the way and there's not enough time to set up the dungeons properly before the hero comes. Battle sounds and animation would make this a lot cooler. The music is great!

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24pm

Cool game, the music is great. I suppose it's a tower defense game but the clue is not so clear to me, the ghoul seems can't do much damage to the hero.

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:54pm

Can't run :(

jujule says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:53pm

I really like the concept of a sort of reverse tower defense. Really smart. Sadly there are several problems that make the game difficult to play :
- the interface is not so intuitive
- pathfinding doesn't really work
- I killed the good guy but nothing happened, only his life going into the negative range
I'd really like to play again a more polished version of this game. So all in all, I'll give it a good rating.

Sim says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Doesn't display properly on multiple monitors :S

@bradleypollard - Change line 53 in Dungeon.cs from:
Size = new Size(SystemInformation.VirtualScreen.Width, SystemInformation.VirtualScreen.Height);

to:
Size = new Size(1024, 768);

Will reply again once I've had a proper play.

Sim says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:16pm

A good game idea, but there are several issues that make it difficult to enjoy:
- There's not enough time to prepare before the player comes. There should either be more time, or a 'Begin level' button.
- The stats windows got in the way, even with the ability to close them. Perhaps make them appear on click rather than on mouse over.
- I couldn't tell how effective the health/damage/armour stats were. Maybe little health bars on the enemies would help.

If those issues get ironed out then it'd be interesting to see how it plays.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:26pm

Thank you everyone who played my game! I'm sorry about the multi-monitor issue, that something I didn't account for in my coding ]= The game is very unpolished. I would have liked to add health bar on top of the monsters and hero but didn't have time, and also I need something to happen when you kill the hero. Have the stats appear on click instead of on mouse-over is a great idea. Sound effects is something I wanted to add but ran out of time.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:17pm

Can't run this sadly :(.

wademcgillis says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:11pm

This was very.... difficult to play. I didn't really know what was going on. I could place monsters near the red squares with monsters on them, and wait for the hero to appear.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]