December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lack of Texture Adventure

by Dioiminik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game where you, representative of the evil, get to kill all the "helpless" good guys. But be warned, some of them found guns and the rest comes at you and trys to hit you in your face!

Controlls: use left and right arrow key to move.
use space or up to jump
use s to shoot

For those that can't seem to win, don't jump down. try work your way from the left of the level to the right and from top to bottom... And stay near a platform if the ai trys to gang up on you.

Well, I surprisingly made it trough this Ludum Dare =D. As this was my first Ludum Dare (where I made it farther than day 1 anyway) and I chose an unfamiliar Development environment without any Librarys but slick_util and lwjgl I couldn't quite make this the Game I imagined at first. Never the less, it's done and I'm actually quite happy with how it turned out. Many unexpected bugs but, all in all FINISHED!!! My first truly finished Game :D + only made in 48 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#404Fun2.77
#454Audio2.14
#531Overall2.70
#545Humor2.00
#572Mood2.38
#685Innovation2.12
#696Graphics1.98
#701Theme2.15

Comments

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:57pm

I wasn't really able to win because the AI meant the blocks all went to the bottom and ganged up on me.

I tried several times but alas to no avail.

I liked the intro text and idea, and the shameless lack of texture :-)

ahmedcab says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:14pm

i can't play, when i pressed enter it said "Finally the movies lied bla bla bla..."

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:45pm

On which system did you play (ahmedcab)? You need to have the res/ folder at the same location where the .jar is. Otherwise my engine thinks all enemys have been defeated as there are none loaded because it can't find the level.txt file

Puffi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:53pm

The game crashes every time I press any of the options in the main, menu.

Crash dump: http://146.255.37.150/puffi/random/LOT_Linux_crash

Running in Xubuntu 12.04 using OpenJDK

fakeshadows says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:02pm

I love that you got LD25 in there :) The fact you can only shoot left or right and the good guys can shoot directly makes it interesting (and rather challenging!)

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:11pm

@Puffi it seems that your computer's java implementation doesn't support the .wav sound file format. Try removing ever .wav file in the res/sounds/ folder. My Engine should then just not play any sound...

Puffi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:22pm

Hey again and thanks, that got the game working!
Liked the "strategic" element that the enemies not being able to jump creates (i.e cheesing them to a helpless corner and shooting them from safe distance).

Nicely done!

impulse9 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Weird jumping mechanics. :)

Cool game nevertheless.

jujule says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:28pm

I love the graphics but the game is really too hard with the enemies following you so systematically. Of course, you can trick them but with 31 enemies and only 10 life points, it's mission impossible. Maybe you should add some power-ups and a mini map ?

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:43pm

@jujule I might continue working on this Game and would love to include these ideas, thanks ;). With a certain tactic it's actually possible, hard but possible ;)

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:10pm

they shoot back!!

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:35pm

Well, I didn't really enjoy this one. Don't get me wrong, it was fun, but it was really hard and nearly impossible to win. The gameplay was fun, but a bit cliche with no real twists, not that its a bad thing. The only "bad" thing I can say about it is that the enemy AI is just so ruthless. They follow you relentlessly, whilst ganging up on you at the bottom. The ones that can shoot, however, are even worse! They can shoot at you from any angle, and since bullets can go through walls, it makes them really hard to dodge. All and all, its okay, but it simply lacks polish. I guess this is forgivable, since its your first game in (I'm assuming you're using anyway, due to the .jar file) Java, but when you continue this, I would really consider redoing the enemy AI.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:06pm

I can't really see how it is possible to actually beat it with only 10 health. It's pretty cool though, anyway - a great entry ;D

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:44pm

That was just impossible :(

Digiraze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:45pm

The enemies can shoot upwards!

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:21pm

The platforming mechanics, controls, gravity & jump height were spot on, unfortunately it was impossible to "win", every enemy just dropped to the bottom.

Logun says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:06pm

When I launch the game, I die instantly :'(

galman says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:10pm

Great game for first time! Everything is really tuned good(speed, jump, shooting) but the lives :P I really enjoyed it! You should really keep working on it after the LD :) ( LD25♥ )

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:55pm

@Logun, could you please give a more detailed explanation? Do you see the level screen or does it instantly go to "Finally, the movies lied ... " ? In latter case: the "res/" folder needs to be at the same location as the ".jar" file. Maybe you could try running it from the command line and tell me the log, please?

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:53pm

A very hard but fun game. Interesting level design. The enemies with lasers feels over powered, but it sure do make things more interesting. Good job!

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:36pm

Can't make it work. I hit enter to play, but I immediately go to a page saying: "Finally the movies lied, the evil can win" Ubuntu 12.04

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:10pm

@ceronman have you tried running it from the command line? I had a friend with similar issues. cd to the directory where the .jar and the res/ folder lies and use "java -jar (executable name).jar" to launch the Game ;)

zatyka says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:19pm

I don't see how this is beatable without shooting through the walls. I enjoyed it, but became frustrated. It would have been a lot more fun if the main character wasn't the exact size of some of the openings he needed to jump through.

GameRespect says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:26pm

I love the atari sound effects and simple aesthetic and gameplay, though more weapons/enemies would benefit the game.

Xavier says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:44am

Love it! but the first thing I did is jump outside the map :-) to see a single square on black background.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:39am

I found it quite frustrating. The enemies know exactly where you are, they shoot straight through walls, their bullets travel further... ugh. But, I did like the feel of the controls (jumping, moving, etc.).

Also, congratulations on finishing your Ludum Dare.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:00am

The ennemy behaviour is basic, but it works, and I actually had fun trying to destroy them. It was still quite difficult. The platform engine and sounds was very good. I think that you should really try to draw sprites, LD is also about trying to test thing you think you are unable to do :) The Lack of Texture title wont work next time :P

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:23am

They shoot, and can actually aim. THE PLAYER is actually helpless since he/she can only shoot on a straight line.

Neonlare says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:00am

Enjoyed the minimalistic style in this, was pretty darn hard a bit of the way into the game, but simple good fun here~

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Nice gfx style, but a little too hard. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]