Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Master Evil

by frogmaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the villain! You make rules! You have the right to control the planet! You! Prove them Yours higherness over the other mortals!

The game is a simple sandbox where You can control Your calculations in order to make a perfect evil plan. You just need to calculate! Calculate and estimate!

Btw. Take care of where Your mouse is :)

EDIT: Fixed one, really small bug in level 2. One wall was improper defined. See updated version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Innovation4.00
#188Graphics3.44
#281Mood2.94
#295Humor2.73
#304Theme3.33
#305Audio2.59
#387Overall2.94
#567Fun2.39
#884Coolness37%

Comments

Mieville says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:20am

Took me a while to work out what I was supposed to do but I liked it when I got it. Putting in numbers rather than clicking on a power bar or pulling back is something I'd like to see more of in physic games.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38am

I had no Idea what to do but it had some good sound and graphics, Maybe add some hints cause I was lost in that wall of text.

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14am

Cool idea! Was a bit hard to understand what to do and when I figured it out it was still a bit hard to figure out what numbers it should be.. also the typing field could loose focus.. maybe have the equations more obvious on the first levels to teach the player the mechanic :)

frogmaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:56am

Thank You all for Your feedback. The "confusion" effect was planned. I mean it was supposed to be something like "hard to be evil/genious". One day You wake up, look on your blackboard and it's like one big "WTF?!" because You forgot what You've been doing (too many threads on genious head).

I know, it doesn't work but I just tried to find it out :)
One more thing: there is a clipping bug in level 2. One wall has moved somewhere else. I don't know if updating the game wouldn't be against LD rules so I'll just make second (updated) link. Also, post-compo version coming soon :) (this time for real)

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:58pm

I really like the idea, its refreshing. But as everybody is saying, its confusing as in "where do i have to clic". I had to smash every key on my keyboard because i didnt know what to do, i still dont know how you push the crate! :D Really loved the concept tho! Great!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:54pm

That's original !

garygreen says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:25pm

Unfortunately I couldn't play it. It gave me the message "mevil.exe is not a valid Win32 application."

frogmaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37pm

garygreen, You can download the love.exe program from love2d.org and run the source *.love file with command "love mevil.love"

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:15am

Couldn't play it. Program ran, didn't crash, but there didn't seem to be any input detection. :/

frogmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:33pm

Ok, I've provided instructions in readme file before but just in case: In order to change values You have to move Your mouse cursor on the field You're aditing. I know it isn't the most convenient solution. I'm working on post-compo version which will include some fixes.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:49pm

Live it... I think(?) Yes, needs more hints :/ I couldn't quite figure it out - almost... but... no, not quite.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:38pm

This looks like a very original idea but only once did I get to enter my number before I got to the box because clicking anywhere will start the simulation and I need to focus the input box. It's fun to be mysterious but it's no fun to be needlessly frustrated. Again, original idea, marred by basic UI problems.

Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:47pm

10/10 Really fun & innovative game, especially liked the immersion of being a complete maths maniac desperately planning to kill the good guy!

StMatn says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:36am

Amazing idea and really cool graphics. I like the chalk and blackboard style. The mixture of real formulas and scriblings was fun. Bonus points for having my favorite meme on level 2. The gameplay could use some more polish. I actually try&erorred it... Maybe it would be fun to screw around with different values, than just the pushing force. Try putting in a butting for the simulation to start(A chalk-styled, but recognizable one would be nice). Too bad, there aren't more levels yet, because it really is fun to play... Very good game!

leafo says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:37am

Cool idea. Love the art. I wish there was a quick way to restart level. There weren't enough levels and the two provided were too similar though. I think the idea has a lot of potential, I liked tweaking the numbers.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]