December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Yeah, more like ZomBYE!

by ChrisMingay - Jam Entry

Yeah, more like ZomBYE!

Created using Monkey - http://monkeycoder.co.nz/

Entered in to the Jam instead of the 48 Hour compo because I didn't make the music and I didn't want to not include it.

My first ever LD48 entry and while I know I'm missing a lot, I am really happy with it :)

Started 11am 15/12/2012 and finished at around 23:30 16/12/2012.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1189Coolness0%

Comments

dek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:33am

Beautiful Music. Sounds in the actual game were so awfully loud though, it made it hard to hear. Graphics are really nice! Gameplay wise, did I do it right to call my zombie mates and just run at the enemies and die? A more detailed how-to would have helped. The random generation is a plus for replay-value. All in all a positive experience!

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:37pm

little bit difficult to get the zombies eating the soldiers but the idea itself is fun

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:29pm

dek: The sound issue, are all sounds too loud? Or was it the when you shout to nearby zombies that was too loud? If the latter, this is because I made all of the other zombies respond with the same scream (so it could potentially play the same sound effect 20 times at once!). This was a poor decision on my part and one that's been changed since (but not included as the LD48 entry).

Gameplay wise, yes you are right, and it does need more of a guide. My plan was to include other abilities as well (like spitting at heroes and stuff like that) but I ran out of time. I am working on updating this for fun so I hope to include the howto and the additional stuff as well! Thanks for trying :)

Joyboxed: You're right, the game has got some balancing and AI issues which I hope to tweak over the next few weeks. Thanks for trying :D

Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:30pm

Doesn't work for me.

Sometimes stops with the message "Sound click doesn't exist."

Sometimes it just hangs in the game.

When I can move around, it seems like it could be fun, but it's unclear what I'm supposed to do. Perform an "action" with space? What?

Cosmologicon says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Unfortunately it locks up for me after just a couple seconds. I got the same error about Sound click.

Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:27pm

*Sigh* I read the instructions afterwards, so I barely ate one human before getting shot - spent 7 minutes after that watching my fellow zombies successfully finish the job : P

Even though patience makes this game unlosable because of this, I really enjoyed it! Holding space causes the error "Monkey Runtime Error : Sound click doesn't appear to exist" to appear at the top (and the game freezing), but the game is fun already with just the alert function.

Also, does the greenzone serve some purpose? Awesome that you generate random maps btw, did you write the code for that during the jam?

ChrisMingay says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Hey thanks for trying :) Sorry about the "click" bug. That's a stupid thing I missed before submission. I didn't want to alter my LD48 submission but I have fixed it in an alternative version ( http://chrismingay.co.uk/ymlz/ )

The only action is to shout at fellow zombies at the moment. In the alternative version I will be adding other things (like spitting).

The level generation code was made during the jam and it is actually very very simple.

1) Place a hero safe zone somewhere
2) Randomly decide how many heros there will be and spawn them in the safezone (the green area heros use to get health and ammo)
2) Randomly place X amount of blocks throughout the level
3) For each block work out if there are neighbouring blocks and change the tile accordingly
4) Randomly place X zombies where X is between 10 and 12 times the number of heroes.

I wanted to add more detailed randomly generated levels, but well... ran out of time ;)

Thanks again to all who tried it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]