December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Rectangle Robbery

by RyanArcher - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is a basic platformer where you steal money. Well that's about it... This has been my first ever game I've made so feedback would be nice, also it currently only runs on Windows and in a web browser. Sorry if you struggle to find the .EXE as well, it was the only way I could think of uploading it.

Please post your high score :)

Please note: The web version does not close when you reach the end like the Windows version does.

Thank you to Bobrocket for hosting the web version on his website.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#713Mood1.86
#720Fun1.88
#735Graphics1.69
#736Theme1.93
#744Overall2.06
#751Innovation1.69
#1012Coolness26%

Comments

kroltan says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 2:57pm

Why no webplayer version?

RyanArcher says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 3:13pm

@Kroltan, didn't know how to do it before, just looked it up and uploading it now :)

Nsmurf says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:34pm

Nice game! The level wasn't very good, because if you fall down, you can't collect all of the money.

RyanArcher says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:51am

@Nsmurf, That was part of the level design, you are meant to lose first time, think about how to get them all and then try again, in all fairness though, my own highscore is only 7 :P

lucasncv says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:00pm

Got 9 moneyz! This really needs a restart button :P Some platforms are extremely hard to get to since they're exactly above max jump height. Even if that's what makes the game hard, it's also what makes it frustrating and not fun!

Now that you've broken the first-game barrier, aim for the hundredth-game barrier! :D

RyanArcher says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:07pm

@Lucasncv All platofrms are able t be jumped on via certain routes, and a restart button was something I was trying to make. Thanks for the feedback :)

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:57pm

unique platforming mechanic

Norgg says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:45pm

Pretty interesting level. I found the feeling of slipping off the edge platforms to be pretty frustrating, bit of a symptom of a few Unity based platformers I've played recently which don't tweak the physics engine enough.

johndb says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:48pm

Very tough level! I played the web version and could not collect the money on the far right end - is that where the game should exit?

Congrats on your first game :)

RyanArcher says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:18pm

@Johndb, yeah in the Windows version the last money closes the game, however Apllication.Quit(); doesn't work in the web version.

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:44pm

Congrats for finishing your first LD game!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:58am

Good job! Was stuck because of some platform being too high for my jump, but hooray for your first game!

RyanArcher says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:05pm

@theRestlessTaxidermists was that platform near the end and did it have a wall at the back, because that is the only one you can't jump to from the floor that looks like you can, however there is a way to get onto it.

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:49pm

Hard to play because I can't jump at some platforms, that seem very close :) But it is nice puzzle to think aboute the right route.

wademcgillis says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:31pm

High score of 4. The platforms are very difficult to land on. Great job for your first game though!

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Congrats on your first game!

Suggestions to improve it: the level design needs work. There aren't many aspects to it that would make a player want to play it. Collecting for collecting's sake is not enough of a reason to play a game.

If you were interested in creating a game that is challenging from a platforming aspect (well timed jumps, etc.), then you need to add a significant downside to missing. In this game it's mostly getting stuck, and then you have to reboot the game (like someone suggested, a restart button would help). If maybe there was no bottom platform and you died when you missed and immediately restarted the level, it would be more rewarding to play!

Hope I was able to help somewhat, but you should be happy! Making a game is great and I'm looking forward to seeing you around next time! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]