December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Missile Bombardment

by MagmaLemur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Missile Bombardment

Have you ever wanted to bomb a (mostly) defenseless city? Be the villain and show them who is boss! Now is your chance!

Instructions:
Click and drag on the dark sky to shoot projectiles down at the city! The only goal is to destroy!

I hope everyone enjoys this game as it is my first submission for Ludum Dare. If you liked this game check out my website at www.protosoftworks.com and check out my iOS game that launched recently.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#482Innovation2.61
#540Fun2.47
#566Theme2.72
#683Overall2.35
#698Graphics1.94
#705Mood1.92
#854Coolness40%

Comments

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:32am

I want a bigger challenge!

And what are those purple balls?

MagmaLemur says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:47pm

The purple ones that appear are supposed to be defensive explosions. They were implemented late in the cycle and I didn't have time to do exactly what I wanted with them. I am planning on continuing with the project though so I will flesh it out better as I continue the development. I am also planning on multiple stages and increasing difficulty. Thanks for playing the game!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:57pm

Completely surreal. First LD entry (other than my own) I've played to the end.

TheSheep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:21pm

No linux binaries, couldn't play.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:27pm

Like the idea of the flak-screen :)

Sam Driver says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:11am

I could see it being a good stress relief toy. The physics on the exploding buildings is pleasantly over the top.

suve says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:13am

Simple, yet very enjoyable. With some nice sound and a higher difficulty, this would be a very good game to spend a few minutes every now and then.

drakfyre says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:38am

Good entry Phil!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Nice one!

michax says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Destroying cities is always fun! Tight gameplay. In future could use some graphics assets :) But not necessary for having fun. Also i think, projecticles could be a little faster to make everything more spectacular. Nice job!

Aswissrole says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:09pm

Nice idea wish you did a little more with it.

wademcgillis says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Yay I win! It's like Missile Command mixed with Space Invaders, but with high res geometric shapes!

Freakill says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:07am

Really nice physics! With a litlle of math you could make that the air defense where missiles launched by the city ;) I would love to see this with more types of primitives to build the city and more colorful explosions (or even combo chain of explosions as in my game :P). Cool!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]