December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Kill the hero with fast swarms of bats!

by agmcleod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wish i could have accomplished more, just got busy with other things. Either way I'm happy I was able to learn some new stuff, and create a game :D. This might work on linux, i just haven't tested it. It's using libgdx with lwjgl, so the native packaging is pretty good. Download anyone of the links to try it.

Note that when you beat the hero, the game will just auto close, Wasn't able to implement an end screen or reset button in time :).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#606Theme2.58
#739Graphics1.67
#753Innovation1.67
#766Fun1.50
#773Overall1.58
#1048Coolness22%

Comments

dekart says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:07am

Good, I won :)

theGiallo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:11pm

I'm using Debian64bit: when I win it crashes returning 255 -.-"

agmcleod says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:32pm

When I get home tonight I'll boot it up in my ubuntu 64 and see what's happening.

agmcleod says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:43am

Okay, so it would seem the problem was occurring for me with the openjdk-7-jre. If you install version 6 and use that instead, it should work.

zatyka says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:06pm

I wish there were more to it.

AyCe says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:26pm

After some attempts I found out how to play this. Then the game was over, but the idea was nice :)

wademcgillis says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:37pm

That was simple. You should expand on it now that LD is over.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Reincarnating bat kills man, film at 11.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]