About | Rules and Guide
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 15 hours, 55 minutes, 41 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 16 hours, 7 minutes, 41 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 16 hours, 55 minutes, 41 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Big Bad Wolf - Alex Shestakov - Jam Entry

    Hey there! Are you ready for an immersive fairy tale massacre? Do you find a Riding Hood delicious enough? What about her Granny? Sure, you'll be playing a wolf now, a really Big Bad Wolf!

    * Eating is key here, don't starve.
    * Eat 10 girls to get invincible.
    * Eat Granny to get her glasses for better seeing and boots for better running.
    * Avoid hunters to survive. Are you hard enough to survive?

    Developed by:
    Natalie Rozvezeva and Alexander Shestakov

    Special thanks to:
    Anastasia Sergienko and Roman Kolenko, 2d design
    Artem "IDrM"Patyn, music production


    *** In post-compo update we've:
    a) slightly changed sounds volume to add a bit more atmosphere;
    b) fixed a performance-dependent speed bug which made our wolf too fast on modern machines.

    View Alex Shestakov's journal. | View all entries by Alex Shestakov

    Ratings

    Coolness60%
    #11Audio(Jam)4.00
    #20Theme(Jam)4.07
    #23Humor(Jam)3.73
    #23Fun(Jam)3.66
    #33Mood(Jam)3.60
    #37Overall(Jam)3.69
    #92Innovation(Jam)3.23
    #113Graphics(Jam)3.50

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59pm

    The wolf runs so fast it's almost impossible to control...
    I played the OS/X version, don't know if that's the problem...

    Crimsoneer says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:01pm

    Great audio and graphics, but just can't control the wolf! He rushes to the top left corner and just zaps around the place.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:29pm

    @Crimsoneer, sorry, but what version did you try?

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    Hey that's funny our games almost have the same name :D

    Schwiggy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:01pm

    I loved the music and sounds with the hectic wolf flying around. At first I didn't realize that you can kill the hunters until the first time I died so the second time was better; though it's difficult to control and know what's happening at all time it's very satisfying when you catch people ha

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:11pm

    @Alex, I basically had the same problem as Crimsoneer on the OS/X version.

    Crimsoneer says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:26pm

    @Alex Windows 64 bit

    buzyavka says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31am

    So much fun!!! Music and atmosphere are fantastic!

    Bensonance says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:15am

    Awesome concept! The slow intro combines with the music perfectly.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28pm

    The zipping around thing could be due to not using "* Time.deltaTime" when applying increments in Unity, so people with crazy-fast hardware will get a crazy-fast game. Anyway, that aside, I found this entry highly amusing. :)

    Andrey Pradun says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:06pm

    Awesome game! We like it very much. Good luck!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:12pm

    Pretty interesting ideia, but as said above, the wolf was wayyyyy to fast. Playing on Win64bit here

    berareu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:19pm

    This game almost had me laughing, very fun and awesome song :)
    Sometimes it gets laggy though!

    fhoenig says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:09pm

    Super fun! The first game I tried here that got me hooked for a while.
    I kike the crazy speed.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:06am

    @Crimsoneer @zedutchgandalf guys, thanks for your feedback! Can you please try it again? It seems like we've actually fixed this bug in our post-compo entry :)

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:07am

    @Dir3kt aha, what a coincidence! :D

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:09am

    @rustybroomhandle thanks for a tip, you were right about the problem :) try a post-compo version, please, it seems like we've fixed it :)

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:10am

    @Amoaeba Junior try a post-compo, please, it's a bit more playable now ;)

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:14am

    Hey everyone, thanks for your constructive feedback! That's actually the main reason why I love LD community so much :)

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:32pm

    I had fun. And I don't really know why :)

    mcc says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:54am

    It ran very ridiculously quickly on my mac, the wolf would walk around slowly during "loading..." and then once the level "started" would zip around at warp speed. Actually, I liked this, it was the best thing about the game, it gave things a frenetic arcade-y feel.

    I did find there was a dominant strategy— because the enemies tended to run away as far as possible, and because the zippy controls were hard to control, if I just slung around the wall edges I would pick up most of the grandmas/riding hoods (who were all perpetually stuck up against the wall, trying to "get away").

    I felt icky, about all the murder, and the blood. Since the point of this LD is to be the villain, I suppose that means your game was effective.

    I never figured out what was happening with the "badges" in the upper right corner.

    How much inspiration did you take from Duck Sauce here?

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:44pm

    @mcc wow, thanks for such a detailed review!

    I have to admit that in this case a hard to control character was done so on purpose, but in a compo version there's a bug that made it too uncontrollable on modern computers, but some people liked it :)

    A dominant strategy exists, but not the one you've mentioned, that one is a bug actually :)

    Those badges display how much of the bonus you have left, a percentage.

    As for Duck Sauce question, a sample only I guess, the track was composed in several hours on Saturday night exclusively for LD :)

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:03pm

    Nice game but something is realy wrong with the trees , another thing the environment seems realistic unlike the characters which give a strange look

    Mista Koo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:52pm

    Fantastic audio, probably the first entry that utilizes audio as the main aesthetic feature.

    It's fun to maneuver away from the bullets. The tree effect is pretty neat too.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]