December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Fall of the Shapes Father

by WiseGAMER - Jam Entry

NOTE : THIS IS OUR FIRST GAME! WE ARE NOT ARTISTS BUT WE TRIED OUR BEST ... THANK YOU!

HINT : KEEP PRESSING A WHEN FACING ENEMIES

KNOWN BUGS :

1 - Collision Boxes (As our first game, that is a thing we totally forgot about XD)

2 - World Exit bug (If you exit from the left)

3 - Tree Doesn't go back to it's place if you replay the game(That's hard bug to discover actually ! thank you guys!)

A funny game about an evil mind who want's to destroy the world by applying his evil plan and start by destroying the math!

P.S : You gonna love the game if you hate Math! ESPECIALLY SHAPES!

Enjoy!

T.T - Team Thawra
http://www.facebook.com/ThawraTeam

NOTE : WE WILL RELEASE ANOTHER VERSION WITH FIXED BUGS AND WE WILL RELEASE MORE GAMES! TO CATCH THEM FOLLOW US ON OUT FACEBOOK PAGE!

http://www.facebook.com/ThawraTeam

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#139Audio(Jam)2.96
#164Humor(Jam)2.58
#242Theme(Jam)2.82
#284Mood(Jam)2.18
#300Fun(Jam)2.05
#304Overall(Jam)2.27
#315Graphics(Jam)1.91
#324Innovation(Jam)1.72

Comments

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:31am

It's a very nice beginning. There is a lot of different enemies, music and sound effect. The only thing that's missing is a better box collider because i often get killed without even touching an enemy !

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:55am

Yeah, the gameplay mechanic is irritating and seem boring - after 5th death by the second enemy it seem as the whole game consist only of that action which is super anty encouraging to play

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:58am

Got to a point I couldn't get past when I dropped the tree on the triangles.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:03am

use the dock (down arrow) then walk normally!

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:04am

Yeah, I also had a little problem with the enemies' hitbox, but very nice game, I like the smooth learning curve, I felt a bit sorry for the shapes father ;_;

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:28am

thanks guys for the comments ^_^ makes us happy!

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:28am

I never trusted a rhombus. And hyperbolic planes? Forget it. In any case, I got to the third area, then I walked to the left and apparently fell out of the world.

Zaszx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:29am

Could be better with better collision detection. Also, you probably cant die when you are constantly pressing A, would be better if there was something to counter this (an enemy throwing something, maybe?) Still, it is a nice game.
By the way, I accidentally pressed > and your debug logs appeared, seems like you forgot them on :)

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:33am

Pros: Funky little platformed with a nice geometry theme.

Cons:I found the sword slash difficult. Many times it would not work on the triangle shaped components unless it was a jump attack. The collision detection seemed off in general.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:40am

thanks guys ... the collision detection was bad ... but we had our whole time fixing other issues and forgot about this :)

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:57pm

The music is awesome and trees are looking kinda interesting :D Needs bigger hitboxes, though ;)

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Ragequit on second level. Collisions are kind of annoying, and a bit boring. Seems to be a pretty generic concept, implemented kinda poorly. Sorry if I sound mean

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:58pm

emveyh thanks! I know bad hit boxes lol!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:59pm

SmallDeadGuy sorry for let you rage quit ... bad job for collisions :( ... but actually I have a little secret for you to pass level 2 ... Keep pressing A and walk :P

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:50pm

I liked the wall jump once I figured it out.

haxpor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:18am

I enjoy the soundtrack very much for this game, just only the intro and story text makes me "holy crow !!!, I'm going to do something".

It seems that I can't really go far away as I try keeping to hit "A" but it really needs to be near the square to hit, most of the time I die although I'm keeping "A" in pressed.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:12pm

Thanks guys for all your bugs reports ... we will fix them after the Ludum Dare

Rialgar says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:03pm

once I found out keeping A pushed the whole time solves the "when to slash" problem, it kept me going to the end. The story was quite interesting, but then end was a bit anticlimating, I would have liked a boss fight there.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Thanks Riaglar ... we was scared from the boss level because this is out first game but we will try to add one after the judging :)

antonijn says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:10pm

The controls are a bit fiddly, but you get used to it after a while. Also, it's kind of annoying if you're almost at the end of a level, and you die, so you have to start all over again. Fun game though!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:27pm

If we make the game longer we will put some check points :P

FrederickK says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:49pm

I liked! Good job!
I hope I see you again in the next Ludum! o/

illugion says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:41pm

This is soooo hard i can't get past the squares ! XD but i really liked the style and the music is nice :D

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Thanks FredeickK we hope to see you too

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:21pm

illugion ... keep pressing A then approach the enemies

infernet89 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Woha, got quite surprised with the wall-jump! But i'm sad. I liked geometry..

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:53pm

hahah ... next time you will be the hero :) ... thank's for your review

Mesene says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:00pm

I was killed 3 o 4 times at the beggining trying to understand how to attack, so i went to the left and dissapeared :D
Nice audio and humor!

goerp says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:02pm

For people who are no artists on their first game it looked pretty good. Nice intro pictures.
Good choice of music.
I also would have liked it if the collision would have been more precise, but that's something you do on your second Ludum :)

Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:03pm

Nice start! I like the fact you've placed the music and the story here, because that's what people usually tend to ignore first :)

h.attila says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:36am

I agree that the player's hitbox is a bit too big. I liked the music, well done!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:12am

Thank you for your feedback guys
Mesene , many had your same problem , we wish that if you could complete the game to the end so here is a small secret keep pressing A .
goerp thank you ,the graphics at least for as was wonderful
:)
Alex Shestakov
well , we are happy you liked it , the game has no soul until it had a story.
h.attila
thank you , we will fix that

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 1:19pm

Liked how you introduced gameplay element at each level. Funny story :)

Agree that the hitbox of the player is too big, most of the time dying is frustrating because of that.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:35pm

At the very begining, if you go left and go out the screen, then when you come back you become invisible and you can't fight anymore. Did you notice that ? Your fighting system is so frustrating that i give it up. Your musics are excellent but i don't think they fit well with the theme.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:45pm

Thanks Dir3kt glad you like it

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:46pm

lotusgame : yeah we noticed that, thanks for your opinion we appreciate it :)

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Took me 10 deaths to figure out I should hold the A key down to actually use the sword instead of sort-of using it. Good first game though. Next time look at bounding box collisions and make those boxes a bit smaller to give it a more real and "honest" feel. Using a sword should be a hit once key. Did not expect that I could (and had to) wall jump!

I like the storyline setup and selected music though a bit odd as another entry used the same music. Keep it up!

WiseGAMER says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Thanks a lot ,as for the music it is free music from "Kevin MacLeod"

DavidErosa says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 4:23pm

A pity you have to keep the attack key pressed... Nice first game!

Husky says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:41am

I like the music!
But I think the attacking criterion is a little strictly...

Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Nice. Fun and full of humor. Controls and collisions are a bit... awkward, though.

My advice for controls: If you are going to keep both of our hands in the keyboard at the same time (i.e: using the right hand for movement and the left hand for jump and attack) don't make us also click on the screens with the mouse! That breaks the "posture". Use a key for that (like JUMP or ATTACK). Also a more natural mapping for the right hand actions would work better (preferably adjacent keys sitting on the same row).

For being your first game however is actually pretty impressive. Congratz!

WiseGAMER says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Thanks ConflictiveLabs very nice tips that we have heared for the first time! ... we will release a fixed version after the Ludum Dare with all known bugs thanks to you and other guys who told us about our bugs

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]