December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Loan Shark

by skiddings - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare submission!
It's incomplete, playable, but not winnable or losable.
Regardless I hope you enjoy it!

You play a shark.
This shark once ate a human loan shark who the mafia had given some concrete shoes and a dinner date with the fishies.
At the same time he was hit by a powerful beam of gamma radiation from Saturn, and that, combined with the toxic waste leaking from near by canisters mutated the shark so he could breath and move on land, and an insatiable lust for giving out high interest loans to suckers.

So how to play:
Go around town and talk to people who want loans. Agree the terms and give them the money.
Avoid letting the suckers repay their loans to early, to get more money out of them. But be careful! If you leave it to loan they won't have the money to repay, so they'll try to run! Hunt them down and kill them, but in your rage you'll ruin half the money in their pockets and you won't get a full repayment!

Controls:
Move shark:
W,A,S,D
Camera zoom: scroll wheel
Interface: Mouse and left click.
Fullscreen: F4
Change screen resolution: F3

Written in C# and XNA
Requires .Net 4.0 and XNA 4.0 redistributes

Work done:
All programming: Sam (Skiddings)
Custom art: housemate John
The rest of the area: OpenGameArt.net
-Sam

Written in C# with XNA. Requires XNA 4.0 redist (included) and .NET 4 installed. Windows only.

Wishlist:
Sound!
Particles and gore
Police
Map objects
Converting to monogame

I hope to continue working on it after the Jam, I think this could become a great little game :)

Thanks
- Sam

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#85Theme(Jam)3.65
#136Innovation(Jam)3.00
#153Humor(Jam)2.65
#227Fun(Jam)2.53
#263Graphics(Jam)2.47
#267Overall(Jam)2.59
#283Mood(Jam)2.20
#912Coolness35%

Comments

Cthu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Npc-s are always complaining that they can't accept the offer, even if it's 20%. It is also hard to select the right amount of money.

But I like the idea and the concept of load shark being an intimidating shark.

wlad says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:45pm

I like the game mechanics, controlling the shark over the map is a pleasure. The idea is brilliant! Full scores for innovation. Some problems I had with astronomical high money counter (2.xxx E+02) after five loans. But this somehow reflects the reality in a humorous way :-D. If you continue working on it, it can become a really nice minigame for sure.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Nice concept.

StMatn says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:21pm

Cool idea! I like the concept.

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:27pm

Unfortunately the game crashed for me. I'll try it again on a different computer.

PaulSB says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Interesting idea! Was difficult to determine how to deal with people: some accepted crazy loans but some didn't seem to accept anything. But props for doing something different, and I like the shark!

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:38am

I love it! What a cool idea! I'd love to see this expanded upon. :)

myachin says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:46am

cant run it(

skiddings says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Starspell, myachin: make sure you've got the XNA 4.0 redistributable installed, otherwise it won't work! I've included it in the rar :)
There seems to be a bug with the random number generator that determines how much people want and how much they earn to repay the loans, so if they keep refusing loans try restarting the game, it might fix it.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Nice idea for a game, maybe just like managing a store would be nice

Jiddo says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:01am

I like the idea and the excessively elaborate back story. It really got me in the mood of giving out high interest loans. :)

Both the controls and the input was a bit awkward. Graphically it was pretty nice tho. The shark look was really cool.

The first "sucker" was a bit hard to get to accept a loan, but the rest of them seemed to basically accept whatever I suggested.

Great work!

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:25pm

Reinstalled everything and the game still doesn't work, I'm sorry :(

Neonlare says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:28pm

The idea? Genius. A Loan Shark-Shark. Well I'll be. A LOT of grey though in the colour palette though :(.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]