December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Look At Me

by Xavier - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Personal remake of Terry Cavanagh's "Don't look back" but changing a bit its history.

Sorry for the inconveniences but there's no ending though I'm very intrigued about the concept of a game without endings or goals. Anyway, I'll take the needed time to improve the game and plot as well (and try to imagine an ending)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#44Mood3.66
#194Graphics3.43
#206Audio2.92
#511Overall2.73
#582Humor1.94
#594Fun2.31
#620Innovation2.31
#726Theme2.00

Comments

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:20pm

I'm not sure what this is.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:26pm

Very nice graphics and interesting gameplay, but I got a bit stuck by the end.

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:42pm

I... dont get it. Pretty nice graphics btw. :)

Pierrec says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:46pm

I'm not sure If I found the ending either, but it's a nice piece of art. Great atmosphere.
I hope Terry Cavanagh will play this.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:49pm

I liked the look and ambiance, but after reaching the "end" I could not find out what to do. Anyway lots of potential here.

Xavier says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:35pm

Thanks for your feedbacks. I know that there is no ending or a clear goal to reach. That is my fault after I see that I could not find any good solution. In fact the general idea was to make a game from the point of view of someone similar to Slender, someone who just killed another that was searching the eight pages on a forest. I'm really happy with the result (is my first game) and probably I will try to develop the plot and, of course, think a good end.

And yeah, I admire so much the work of Terry Cavanagh :-)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:32pm

I don't see the point nor why it's a vilain but the minimalist style with the pixel rain is beautiful

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10pm

I love Terry's work, so it's nice to see a game inspired by one of his.
I like the atmosphere you created with the nice, dark palette along with the storm sounds, I just wish there would be a real ending to it.

angela says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:55am

nice graphics

aeveis says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:33pm

there could be better placement of things, like a bit more walking space before the sand pit so people don't walk into it by accident. Otherwise a nice start!

jerombd says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:51pm

Great atmosphere, thanks to the sound effects and the Cavanagh model. I'm not really into the Slender thing so I think I missed some things.
I though the player (ME) is a kind of villain who's leading the character to the hell... but I'm probably wrong^^

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:43am

I really love the graphics, the theme, the audio, and the ambiance, it's just even though it was your intention to leave out solid game play it's rather uninteresting after 30 seconds of holding the right key without any game play. None the less very cool on the content end though.

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:44am

I didn't mention this specifically but I should as it's cool, I really love the rain effect :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:36pm

maybe nice original concept but overall i dont get it, should be more hints unless games is not finished

Husky says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:02pm

"Jump or don't play." lol
I like the ambient, the night and the rain.
But I am not sure what the story is talking about..

feili says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:21am

I really like the mood the graphics and the texts... but yeah an end is needed!

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:45am

Just a tip, you made your source available on github as a .gmx. You should also make a "Export Project" .gmz version so that people can download the project in one click.

Xavier says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:48am

csanyk: Thanks for the tip! I'll do as soon I finish at work :-)

Xavier says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:51am

feili: I'll take this holidays to improve the story, add NPC characters, create more rooms (based in a new idea I'll share in the postmortem post) and, yeah!, design an ending.

Xavier says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:23am

csanyk done! https://github.com/xbelanch/LD48/blob/master/ld48.gmz

Mase says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:45pm

I like the idea of a Terry Cavanagh game remade without goals 'cause I'm bad at tricky platformers.

raincole says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:01pm

Good mood. The plot is hard to understand.

zatyka says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:31pm

I enjoyed it for what it was. I kind of wish you used the art style, and maybe even game mechanics, but in a different way then Terry did.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:32pm

lovely atmosphere!! the half-hidden person crept me out!

ddionisio says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:22pm

The game definitely has some atmosphere in it. Not sure if I was a villain though. Good graphics and audio! Now it just needs more exploration and possibly a checkpoint.

Eniko says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Really great atmosphere, such a shame there isn't more story in it!

wally2069 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:16pm

Well that sure was weird, but it did not really anything for me.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:36pm

As the others said: Nice graphics but... what the fuck? ^^

Xavier says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:09am

I said it before: there's no plot or end (am I a villain for create a game without an end? :-)

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Amazing atmosphere and visuals. The ambient sound is also very pleasing. I didn't really know what was going on or how it was tied to the theme, but the confusion of it all made it very interesting.

aare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:53pm

I love this kind of gameplay and your graphic style. The lack of the proper ending or goal was a bit disapoinint

Beerman says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:05pm

Looks great, brilliant atmosphere, just needs some actual "game" in there and you'd have a real winner on your hands.

Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:41am

Did I win? Not sure how this fits the theme, and the insta-kill then restarting at the beginning was a drag. That & there not being an ending.

Good job recording a thunder storm during the 48 hours!

Xavier says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:34pm

@Beerman thanks! it's my first game so it's great hear this

@Dark Acre Jack: I know it's not a "finished game" and I said before a few times it has a lot of flaws and lack of an ending. To be honest it was more important for me to make my first game than not to win the competition.

PS: Have you been before in Barcelona? We have a great thunder storms every weekend ;-)

angrygeometry says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:00pm

this felt really nice. i liked it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]