December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The rich get richer

by Prealpha - Jam Entry

Create grief and make people miserable through stock exchange. As I couldn't get the miserableness simulator working on time, the mission in this game is to influence companies to be less efficient and more annoying by increasing a 'chaos' meter.

As the level of accumulated chaos increases, you gain some slightly demonic abilities. The win condition is to raise the total level of chaos by influencing big companies to be Evil (or, at least, irritating). Have too little money on your pocket and you lose.

Made in java and tested in Windows and Linux.
Thank you for playing.

-----------Guidelines / Tutorial ----------
It seems I made this even more crytic that I at first thought, so my apologies to anyone who tried it and felt a bit lost.

Some guidelines:

- Clicking on a Company in the left side allows you to buy shares, up to as many as your current money allows.
- You lose the moment your money get too low (under 200) no matter what you own at the moment, so be careful when buying shares.
- Owning a chunk of a company gives you control over its chaos bar, the more you own the more control.
- A company low in chaos has more chances of growing and increasing its share values.
- The opposite is also true: high chaos makes the company shrink and lowers the value of its shares.
-The biggest a company is (size), the more it influences the total chaos.
- As total chaos increases, you unlock spells and, ultimatelly, win the game.
- The spells work as follows:
-Charisma lets you move the chaos meter over the bounds you would normally have.
-Fear allows you to buy cheaper shares.
-Perception filter makes companies you own look better: companies with high chaos will grow as if it was lower while this spell is active.

Putting all this together, some viable strategies are:
- Buy shares of a company with a middle-high chaos value and lower it, wait and its value will go up.
- Increase the chaos value of a company before selling it, later on its value will go down and you can buy it again more cheaply.
- Try to keep chaos as high as posible while letting the company still grow, so the total chaos increases and you get access to useful spells.
- Buy while fear is active, change chaos while charisma if active, keep perception filter active if you own anything.

Hope it helps!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#36Innovation(Jam)3.60
#230Theme(Jam)2.92
#274Humor(Jam)1.85
#276Audio(Jam)1.07
#292Mood(Jam)2.07
#314Overall(Jam)2.11
#322Fun(Jam)1.66
#328Graphics(Jam)1.38

Comments

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:03pm

I am not sure that I got the game: I am trying to understand what values I can change and what that slider does, but I am failing in that regards.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:09pm

I like the idea behind this game. And it's certainly unique - haven't seen another stock exchange game this LD yet.

However I'm not sure how you are supposed to be able to win. You never seem to get any money back from your investments which means you can't buy more.

Interesting idea but you might want to explain it a bit more.

schnerble says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:48pm

I'm not sure I quite got it either, but I like the idea :)

Sanguine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:55pm

I like the idea and the looks of it, it really makes me feel like I am using some kind of stock exchange program. I think the game does need a tutorial of some sort though.

jurnacsr says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:40pm

Not quite sure what what going on - and it even sent me to hell without getting rich. I like the concept, but some guidance would have been appreciated.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:53pm

I'm confused

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:25pm

Your user interface is far from the friendliest I've seen. It would have been nice to have an exact number for the amount of money I had, rather than guessing and watching a line on a chart. That said... what an interesting concept. You definitely did something unique, here.

Klakwa says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:05pm

I liked the game ! It's a very nice idea, tho at first it's a bit confusing to understand what is what :) Nice work !

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:30pm

Game is pretty confusing from a gameplay mechanic. Interface is really, really hard to understand :(.

deathray says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:39am

I really like the concept of playing a chaos-creating stock trader. But sadly the game needs some UI improvements. I found it hard to know if i had enough money to buy more stock, and it was hard to tell at a glance whether i was winning or losing.

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:58am

As others have said, I love the idea here, but the ui isn't very intuitive. Remember, we've never seen a game like this before, which can be hard to keep in mind for a game you've spent hours or days (or longer!) developing.

One easy way to make it more intuitive is to simply add tool tips to every component, explaining what it does. You might also think about making the impact of the player action more obvious: animations, changing borders and colors, etc. I think this idea is worth sticking with, even if designing a ui can be a pain!

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might consider the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. Either way, happy coding!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]