December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Conquer all the castles!!

by Ithildin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

As an evil lord, ambition for power knows no limits, and you're feeling an incredible urge to conquer all the castles in the kingdom, defeating any meddling hero in your way.

Of course, you can always count on your minions, and let them do the dirty job for you :)

Known issues
==================
There is a bug with the collision detections causing the player to get stuck sometimes (more frequently on level 3), or minions to appear displaced compared to the right position.

In-game controls:
===================

* WASD keys to move the main character around.
* Mouse left click to attack enemies or destroy the environment. You must be right next to the tile (no diagonals allowed).

* J Spawn a new wave of minions. There is a cooldown of 10s before you can spawn a new one (provided that all the previous minions have died).
* H Toggles the minimalistic GUI: Visible (sort of), Visible with background and Hidden.
* P Toggle pause on/off.
* Backspace to go back to the splash screen.

About the game:
=================

It's been developed in AS3, using the Starling framework (http://gamua.com/starling/) and the "lang" library on AS3 commons (http://code.google.com/p/as3-commons/).

Flash 11+ is required, therefore.

Additional tools, resources and so on:
* TexturePacker (http://www.codeandweb.com/texturepacker)
* Tiled (http://www.mapeditor.org/)
* DrPetter's sfxr (http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html)
* M04 Fatal Fury fonts by Miffies (http://mfs.jp.org)

[EDIT 06/11/2016] Changed web link

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#240Theme3.48
#356Humor2.56
#450Audio2.16
#558Fun2.43
#564Mood2.40
#566Graphics2.39
#569Overall2.63
#637Innovation2.26

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:53am

Controls are pretty smooth. It's a bit too easy and too much of a clickfest. Why would I ever *not* want to spawn minions? I love the intro screen, by the way :)

jahlgren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:56am

It is frustrating how the character controls. It gets stuck all the dam time. I think it would also be better if you could hold the mouse button instead of repeatedly spam clicking

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:03am

Title screen made me laugh out loud :D

Game was okay, but kind of tedious if I'm honest.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:09pm

The title screen definitely adds to the humor. But yeah, it's a clickfest and my poor mouse doesn't approve. Also, the collision detection is a bit off (sometimes not being able to move into free tiles).

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:24pm

Click-o-mania indeed. 3 levels is just about right. Minions work well. Not sure if you can lose other than getting stuck. Pretty good.

Lyonsbanner says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:29pm

I usually play with azerty keyboard and direction arrows. Only play with qwerty keyboard is pretty difficult for me.

However, the game is simple and complies with the theme.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:31pm

It's annoying how easy it is to get stuck, but you knew that already. It seems that it's because the space between two objects are about as big as your character (including white space)? This often seems to be the issue since you would require to go through the space almost pixel perfect.

The minions don't seem to have a great AI too, they sometimes just wander in a random direction and thus make you fight the guard and castle alone. This is noticeable in level 3. It would be nice if they tried to stay close to you, move in the direction of the caste or something in that direction.

Despite my criticism, it's still a nice game that fits the theme well. I would play it more if not for the few levels.

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57pm

Yay Starling!

Zener says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41pm

Very nice little strategy/action game. I love the main character and the minions, they are well drawn and fit the theme perfectly.

One clear improvement is to enhance the minions AI or to add the option to have some control over them.

The sounds of the game are very funny and it has the best title screen ever :)

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:19pm

Cute, I like the game's size, it's great!

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:09pm

It seems I didn't have to move anywhere to win. Just clicked on the castle a bunch of times and viola.

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Click it! :D cool idea but the controls ruin it a bit. The minions also seem a bit pointless since i can destroy everything by myself (and even faster then the minions can)

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:55pm

short, and .. odd

berkano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Short and sweet, I enjoyed it!

joekinley says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Nice little game. Yeah the collision problems in level 3 were a bit PITA but I still won.
Was it even possible to die here? I didn't see any health bar and was pretty easy able to kill that king.
I liked the graphics and it was fun while it lasted. Good work.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:55pm

The controls are difficult work with; I kinda needed three hands. Might have been better to make the spawn minions as right click so that only one hand needed to be on the keyboard. Other than that it was easy as the hero always seemed to get stuck.

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:49pm

I think grid movement would have helped the movement feel a lot. Perhaps some attacking/fireball animation of sorts when clicking something might look better as opposed to a little icon/sound. The idea is good though, and it fits the theme well. Good work! :)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:53am

Thank you all for the feedback, it is much appreciated and the criticism is really useful, I've learned some lessons for the next LD :D

Some (but not all, of course) of the most important problems you've mentioned can be blamed on time.

For example, the collision issues (this will haunt me for weeks). And, to be honest, I didn't think of changing the level layouts for some more sensible ones, to at least help mitigate the problems with units getting stuck.

Time's also the reason why the AI leaves a bit to be desired. I started with a simplistic approach to have something more or less functional that could be replaced easily later with pathfinding, more complex behaviours and so on, but in the end it made it to the released game.

And the low final difficulty some of you are complaining about is a combined result of the poor AI and the lack of balance time (plus not giving the player attack a cooldown to avoid clickfests).

And I agree that the control scheme can be improved. Maybe mapping attacks to a key, or spawning minions to a different mouse button could have helped. (And, thinking of different keyboard configurations, using arrows rather than WASD if there are no customizable controls).

ananasblau says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:17am

Attacking should be happening by running into the opponent, but other than that, a nice, quite literally small game. Conquer all the scores!

Gornova says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:20am

Uou already know about collision problems, so I don't blame you for this :D

GagaPete says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:46am

The controls are kinda buggy, I get stuck every now and then. And there are to less tasks to accomplish. The knights are to weak. But it makes fun for a few minutes. And that is all that matters for a game. :)

SFX says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:02pm

I kept getting stuck, which was a bit frustrating.

arhpositive says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:36pm

A good effort. Minus points are, it lacks any kind of difficulty, and the gui to show the hp and level was kinda difficult to see. Other than these, it's a decent game overall. :)

Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:43pm

The character seems to get stuck sometimes. I love the idea of spawning your own minions to do the attacking for you though.

mangosarecool says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:46pm

pretty funny
it is a little bit glitchy but what can you expect
like the minions

mangosarecool says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:46pm

the game was a little short too

Cabral says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:46pm

I get the idea, but it could be better. The controls aren't very good, because it's awkward to use WASD, J and the mouse all at once, there's no reason not to bind Spawning to a closer key. I don't get why you decided to use the mouse, either. I'm afraid there isn't much gameplay at all, and it's simply not fun. On top of that, there's the issues like the character getting stuck and clicking enemies at a distance.

Not a bad idea, but keep those things in mind next time =)

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:23am

I like it. I'd just suggest working on level design and improving collision detection. : )

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]