Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Gnome's Revenge

by Spelchan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires Flash 11+. You play the evil gnome from Blazing Games' earlier Christmas games with the evil plan of disrupting Christmas by stealing Santa's reindeer. You must chase the reindeer out of the corral. Note the sound volume slider requires clicking and dragging on the slider box, clicking in the volume area does not move the slider.

Update: Added link to my postmortem that was posted December 27th.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#422Humor2.34
#537Audio1.68
#588Theme2.65
#640Fun2.18
#659Innovation2.22
#678Mood2.07
#694Overall2.29
#698Graphics1.94

Comments

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:24pm

Not sure if it's a bug, but I literally couldn't catch a single one. Even when they were trapped in a corner, it was almost as if the player was colliding with the reindeer, but not actually capturing (scoring). Aside from that, I do like the chase mechanic, though it'd be nice if the reindeer either went a bit slower than me, or even slowed down over time (got tired).

Spelchan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:43am

The goal is to chase them out of the corral, not to catch them. Sorry, I should have tried to make that clearer.

Bemmu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:51am

Strange experience at first walking around, having no idea what to do. Only later realized the goal was to push them out from above.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:53am

Would probably be more fun with a much smaller corral (2x2 screens max), and far less blockers and having the reindeer move around on their own. Toss in a time limit or other things and it'd be a nice little game. Also stick to 8 named reindeer (Dasher, Dancer, so on) and perhaps have the entire game see how long it takes to get all 8 out, and that's that. Short and sweet.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:53am

Solid entry. I didn't enjoy it, but I am biased -- I can't stand herding things in games.

zachstronaut says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:10am

Wow, that was kind of hard! heh. The buggers don't want to leave. I like the subtle checker snow pattern.

sletari says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:28pm

Hahaha, so that's how it feels to be the grinch =P

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:09pm

Nice concept, but herding multiple at once was near impossible.

jamesca says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Woo got one, then I ran out of time. :-(

blackmagic says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:42pm

that man is really a true evil guy ! XD
the concept is interesting but it lack some good design.

on the title screen, i searched the play button, be aware of the contrast blue & black, they don't work together.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:17am

I quite like herding games, the whole thing worked well and was pretty solid

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:27pm

Nice idea. Played a bit longer than I thought I had!

awppy says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:51pm

The movement of the reindeer felt pretty good after a little bit. I couldn't see where where to take them at first, but it became clear after a bit.

As others mentioned, a few tweaks could really help - less obstacles, roaming reindeer, and the ability to herd multiple reindeer at once. Ah, but what can ya do?

raincole says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:55am

Good. It would be funnier if there were fewer obstacles.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:29am

Nice, a de-make of the mini-game from Twilight Princess.
I had fun with this one, good job.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:05pm

I think the area is to big for this type of game. Secondly, the fleeing of the reindeers is too... fragile? I mean, it is very hard to push 2 reindeers to the open gate without losing one.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:35am

Good idea, takes a little while to herd them out the corral though. Perhaps a smaller corral, or some small additional random movement for the reindeer.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:46pm

hehehehe very addictive for me o.o, great job!

h.attila says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:39am

The idea was alright, but the presentation could've used more work.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:56am

It would be nice if there is different types of reindeer in order to introduce different levels of difficulty. Controls are ok but I glue on rocks and trees.. which is a little annoying. Good work anyway !

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:07am

Didn't really strike me as supremely evil, couldn't quite get into this game sadly :(.

davidwparker says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Yeah, it took me a minute to understand that I was getting them out of the corral, not catching them.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:22pm

The main menu doesn't have the best matching colours, especially the buttons; I couldn't read what was written on them.

The game was pretty solid, though it would've been nice if the reindeer were moving on their own too and if Santa actually came on screen when the time ran out.

Not a bad game, it just needs a lot polishing.

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:21am

I quite like the slap-dash graphics but some of the images on the menu seemed a little blurred. I liked chasing the deer around and a goatee beard is pretty evil.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:59am

Average.

AdricZero says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Very difficult to herd them out. I got one in the time allotted. Maybe if the size of the corral was smaller to start out. Also to repeat the comment about the black on dark blue was hard to see in opening screen.

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Not all that much to do, could have used a little more work on the collision and herding as it was really pretty iffy, easy to get stuck on stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]