December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Crobal and friends

by Gaeel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Crobal and friends is a story about a friendly monster who wants to play with people from the village. Unfortunately his big feet and slow mind get in the way of his friend-making, and the villagers often think he's just being a bully.

----

Due to some unforeseen issues, I'm having trouble getting the applet to work. In the mean time you can download the all systems pack and run the game from there.

Bugfixes for these issues are incoming.

---

Windows and Mac users, can you please tell me in the comments below if you can get the game running or not?

A Mac user reported having problems running the .app and some Linux and Windows user reported bugs with their respective executables and even the .jar files.
I don't know what's causing this issue, it's my first time deploying a Java application, and I'm not sure what I can do to fix this, especially since I don't have a faulty machine to test on.
if anyone has some bright ideas, I'm all ears!

---

Post-compo bugfixes:
- Fixed an issue where the game would end prematurely

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Audio3.56
#58Graphics4.00
#63Humor3.60
#163Mood3.20
#208Theme3.56
#218Innovation3.18
#263Overall3.17
#284Fun3.00
#854Coolness40%

Comments

Logun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:31am

I see only a Yellow screen ! :/ looks cool but I can't rate it !

Gaeel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:28pm

Yeah, I didn't test the applet version, it's my first game in Java, I'm struggling to get it to work outside of Eclipse

Niavlys says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:21pm

Tu dois pouvoir faire un .jar facilement depuis Eclipse non ?

Niavlys says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20pm

The game runs flawlessly for me on Windows 7.

Niavlys says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:24am

I get this under my Arch Linux:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: gd/xi/framework/main/GameStandalone : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
[...]
Could not find the main class: gd.xi.framework.main.GameStandalone. Program will exit.

Une idée ?

Saisaith says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:33am

Nice work!

nitramgc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:51am

Haha, nice one dude!

Crobal is so cute.

I'm so sad when the game auto-quit when he doesn't manage to find enough friends :)

Great job, great voice acting :)

Verrazano says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:47pm

I don't know that was probably the greatest game ever. .. maybe more gameplay but, the idea was great well executed - I guess it didn't really need game play.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:26pm

On a mac... app won't launch...

Bensonance says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:41pm

Great game! Only game I've seen so far with an ambiguously presented villain. The voice over was also a great touch.

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:47pm

The game works for me on windows 7, nice concept.

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Awesome game, nice graphics, nice floor ;) Loved it, played it several times just watching the floor break :D

bach says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:50pm

Wish I could play this :( Get an error on Windows7:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: gd/xi/framework/main/GameStandalone : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
[...]
Could not find the main class: gd.xi.framework.main.GameStandalone. Program will exit.

oldtopman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Doesn't run on my system. I've tried both .jar's and the .sh.
Slackware 14.0_64. http://hastebin.com/purunelowe.avrasm

Hume says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:37pm

That was awesome, but I don't think I could catch his friends, and I didn't know how sad he was.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:42pm

Nice graphics and nice narrative. Is he really a villain? Or just misunderstood? *sniff* ;_;

Niavlys says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:26am

It's impressive for a first 3D game! Too bad you didn't have time to fully implement the screaming mechanism :)

Pierrec says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:36am

I can't download it :/ dropbox seems to have some problems. I'll try later

Markavian says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Couldn't get it to run, no errors, just a silent failure.

Rialgar says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:59pm

ok, runs, I can walk around and stomp things down, which is great, but is there any target?

Jan 2, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Not much gameplay-wise but I love the narration and graphics.

I got a java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError at first, so I had to install Java 7 to get it to run. Tip: Unless you need Java 7 features, compile the game for Java 6 or earlier.

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I actually really liked this game. The simplicity is a good thing, and the story-telling voice-over that at least seemed to be responding to what I was doing was perfect. Some more variety would be great- different kinds of houses and villagers (army?), or maybe a way to go from the village to the next level which is a city with tougher resistance, etc. But this is a great start for a single weekend.

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might consider the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. We handle LWJGL automatically, and I'd love to see this game there! Either way, great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]