December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Life of the Death

by se1by - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just run the start.bat in he zip or execute the jar with the commandline : "java -Djava.library.path=native -jar LifeOfTheDeath.jar"
It will get extended in the post-compo version.
The game explains itself, just try it!
I'll do my best to create a web version, too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#415Mood2.69
#514Humor2.08
#573Theme2.69
#613Fun2.27
#633Innovation2.27
#687Graphics2.00
#744Overall2.06
#948Coolness32%

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Mmm I was lost in what to do, I could fly abnormal unless intended and was unable to walk on the ground.

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:54am

Umm, I think that soul is too fast? I managed to get in front of the soul in the first level, but in the second level it just get further away pixel by pixel.. and after some time I die.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:57am

I know it must have been hard to make this so i suggest you could add just a little background music to make us feel more challenged !

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:51am

The concept is really good, but there are some problems with the collision detection, and chasing souls in a straight line but not being able to catch up is frustrating. There is a lot of potential for this game though!

JesterBLUE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:19pm

In the first level I hit space first thing then saw the soul flying away from me, so I thought I fired a bullet. Then I wandered around and nothing happened until I died. Tried again and I think I got the point that time. Having more souls to catch might be good.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Sorry can't rate since I don't have windows.
All your download links seems to point to the windows distribution and my linux can't load the DLLs :)

I tried pointing to a linux version of LWJGL-2.8.5 natives. App started, a black screen that said "Hallo welt" and "Made by.." then nothing happens.

tumoxep says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:47pm

Pretty nice. I will like to see more levels in post-compo version.
Sorry to hear about your grandmother.

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:15pm

Getting an exception when running on my Mac:

http://pastebin.com/LWGyenZ4

Ping me on Twitter (@youdonotexist) when you get a working build or need help getting it working for Mac.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:37pm

Sorry couldn't run this game on Ubuntu 12.10: Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path

se1by says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:30am

@all:
Thanks for the feedback, it's a strange (but very good!) feeling to know that my game gets played :)

@Parapub:
Tapping to fly and beeing unable to walk on the ground is intended to add some difficulty.
@Wukkopi:
I was able to catch the soul in both levels...
If it is too fast, change the speed variable in the level file.
@Edocentrique:
Will be added in the post - compo :)
@GameRespect:
I know :/ The collision thing took so much time that I changed to a pretty simple algorithm. Will get fixed in the post - compo (or the post - post - compo as it really needs time).
@JesterBLUE:
You need to hit the soul with your scythe ;)
More souls? Nice idea, I'll think about it :)
@jmaasing:
I'm currently fixing the OS bugs :/
Sorry for the inconvenience :(
@tumoxep:
Thank you :)
Somehow, writing this game helped me to handle her death.
@youdonotexist:
Currently working on this bug.
Should be fixed pretty soon.
@ceronman:
Will be fixed soon, shouldn't take long to fix it.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Neat game. However, the controls were kinda erratic and while mashing space to get the soul, the cutscene would show up and I'd accidentally skip it. Still cool though.

Jan 2, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Didn't manage to get it to run in Linux Mint.

This is as far as I got:

$ java -Djava.library.path=/usr/lib/jni -jar LifeOfTheDeath.jar
Wed Jan 02 20:18:12 CET 2013 INFO:Slick Build #274
Wed Jan 02 20:18:12 CET 2013 INFO:LWJGL Version: 2.8.5
Wed Jan 02 20:18:12 CET 2013 INFO:OriginalDisplayMode: 1600 x 900 x 24 @60Hz
Wed Jan 02 20:18:12 CET 2013 INFO:TargetDisplayMode: 800 x 600 x 0 @0Hz
Wed Jan 02 20:18:12 CET 2013 ERROR:null
java.lang.NullPointerException
at java.lang.String.getBytes(String.java:986)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.nSetTitle(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.setTitle(LinuxDisplay.java:760)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.setTitle(Display.java:538)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.createWindow(Display.java:309)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:845)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:754)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.tryCreateDisplay(AppGameContainer.java:299)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.access$000(AppGameContainer.java:34)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer$2.run(AppGameContainer.java:364)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.setup(AppGameContainer.java:345)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.start(AppGameContainer.java:314)
at com.BitByterStudios.se1by.Game.Game.main(Game.java:95)
Wed Jan 02 20:18:12 CET 2013 INFO:Starting display 800x600
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.RuntimeException: No OpenGL context found in the current thread.
at org.lwjgl.opengl.GLContext.getCapabilities(GLContext.java:124)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.GL11.glGetString(GL11.java:1770)
at org.newdawn.slick.opengl.renderer.ImmediateModeOGLRenderer.initDisplay(ImmediateModeOGLRenderer.java:32)
at org.newdawn.slick.GameContainer.initGL(GameContainer.java:723)
at org.newdawn.slick.GameContainer.initSystem(GameContainer.java:748)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.setup(AppGameContainer.java:378)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.start(AppGameContainer.java:314)
at com.BitByterStudios.se1by.Game.Game.main(Game.java:95)

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:13pm

This is a pretty good start, but the controls are a bit clunky. There's probably a better way to go than making the user spam W and space- I ended up skipping past the level screens by accident. Some more variety would be nice, but this is a good start.

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might consider the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. Our uploader automatically handles LWJGL. Either way, happy coding!

Cyboot says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:54pm

I agree with some of the comments, its a good start for a nice game if you put some more work into it.
I played it in 2 mins (maybe 4, because I forgot to catch the soul with SPACE at first time) because its only 2 levels.

But good job nevertheless :)

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:25pm

I think this a good idea but a terrible implementation. The spirits are moving way faster then death so it's impossible to catch them. I had some cases when hitting SPACE didn't cought them too. Also how is that Death can't go through stuff or move on land?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]