About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 10 hours, 55 minutes, 42 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 11 hours, 7 minutes, 42 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 11 hours, 55 minutes, 42 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Ambush Predator 7: Angry Angler - SimianLogic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    When the theme was first announced, my thoughts drifted to what we normally consider "villainous" creatures -- crocodiles, angler fish, sharks... after reading up a little on angler fish, I got the idea to make you "shake" your bioluminescent bacteria to hunt other fish.

    *Move with WASD (angler fish are slow)
    *Take a bite with the spacebar
    *Shake your mouse to shake your bioluminescent bacteria and attract fish.
    *Shake too much and they'll see your ugly face and run away (watch for the exclamation point).
    *Fish above you are attracted to your light. Fish below you are repulsed.
    *Eat fish to get bigger.
    *Eat too big of a fish and you will explode.
    *Get big enough and you will rule the ocean forever.


    =====================

    I'd hoped to do a giant squid boss fight at the end, but ran out of time.
    I was literally adding the game over state as time expired, so you may not be able to actually "beat" the game.

    View SimianLogic's journal. | View all entries by SimianLogic

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #62Innovation3.72
    #120Mood3.30
    #225Overall3.25
    #231Humor2.94
    #258Audio2.74
    #279Fun3.03
    #338Graphics3.00
    #376Theme3.19

    Comments

    ripter says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:22am

    Awesome idea! It was very fun.

    enfyrneaux says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24am

    Best use of lighting I've seen so far.

    Scott McBee says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:28am

    I love the control scheme and light mechanic.

    scriptblocks says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:38am

    Awesome Game. Not sure if its possible to win. I just kept eating tell nothing happed.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:05am

    Solid work. Full marks for fun.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:02am

    I lot of clever ideas here, and a nice looking result. Well done!

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:14am

    Fun game with some interesting mechanics. Especially the lighting.

    Ditto says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:35am

    It was a bit hard to judge which fish I could eat and which would end the game. Other then that, the mechanics are awesome^^ Good job!

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:16am

    Super cool.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:03pm

    Cool idea with "mouse shaking" and controls!
    Fun and addictive game. Nice work!

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:19pm

    Cool game. I don't think eating makes a villain per se, but then some vegetarians I know would say differently!

    Felix20 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    Great game, the "omnomnom" sound was funny, but got a little annoying after awhile.
    The lighting mechanic was great, the atmospheric sounds really helped a lot.
    Kinda needs something to verify that you've won.
    I like how as you slowly grow, you look more and more evil looking

    SimianLogic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    Found the typo that was preventing people from hitting the "You Win" screen, but I'll wait until after voting to fix it. Put a png of that screen at the bottom of the page so people can see the epic took-me-30-seconds screen that they're missing.

    Joncom says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:09am

    Well done!

    grouchotron says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:52am

    Very fun, loved the fish graphics! The lighting mechanic is super neat!

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:26pm

    Fun to play. Great use of lighting.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:18am

    The light based mechanic is really great. I also like the fishes animations.

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:56am

    Clever idea for the gameplay. I found it to be slow paced, and strategic.

    Crowbeak says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:29am

    OM NOM NOM!

    Fantastic game mechanic. Simple, fun, and unique.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:04pm

    Really good idea ! Too bad your fish swim with stiffness and backwards, i think that's killing all your effort on giving the impression to be an angler fish. Anyway, nice interpretation of the theme !

    TheSheep says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:59pm

    Surprisingly fun game. Lovely sound. Reminds me of Flow.

    AumaanSnake says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:22am

    Great use of light mechanic, good work!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]