December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Globe Hacker

by rasmusrn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Globe Hacker is a strategy game about conquering all mainframe computers of the world.

Note: You can attack several times with the same mainframe by clicking several times on your target. However, this will use more power. The choice is yours :)

The game is built in HTML5 and has been tested with Firefox and Chrome.

This is my first game jam. I really poured my heart into it and I'm totally exhausted by now. I think I'll sleep for two days straight.

I'd really really love your feedback - both negative and positive. Thanks! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#38Overall3.80
#69Mood3.50
#77Audio3.37
#87Fun3.48
#91Graphics3.83
#135Innovation3.42
#346Theme3.26
#609Humor1.84

Comments

DrSuperSocks says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:32am

This is awesome! It looks very polished! I'm addicted :P

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:08am

It's entirely possible I was missing something important, but this was super-hard for me, even on easy.

Nice idea though, and fairly slick.

sanderman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:13am

Nice game. Very entertaining. Requires careful thought to be succesful.

Only real problem I have is I can't seem to distinguish normal nodes from mainframes. It seems Rome is a mainframe while places like Lagos and New York aren't? Fix that and you're golden.

jastkand says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:42am

Very nice! My vote is yours!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:44am

Very good indeed! Though even on easy it seems I am not an 1337 h4xx0r. ;___;

Extremely polished graphical style, very nice!

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:44am

Very unique idea! Took me a little while to understand, but it was fun once I understood the strategy. Nicely polished music/graphics!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:44am

Love the graphics and icons! The low-fi approach works really well.

On the other hand, it was soemwhat difficult figuring out what was happening.

Lidfrid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:46am

Looks so polished!!! Impressive.
Seriously, good job :O

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:48am

This game is really fun, I say even though I suck at it.

bwdevel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:49am

Great game. Having to deslect sucked, but that was overcome once I learned that ESC would do the delect for you.

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55am

I always get astonished by how polish games people can make in 48 hrs.

celsyum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:57am

after playing very long , game stops. Very cool game ! :)

madpew says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:32am

Nice presentation and fluid gameplay. A bit difficult in the beginning.

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44am

AWESOME!!

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Very cool concept, not a whole lot of fun :P Great job!

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59pm

Nice game! I used to play Galcon a lot, but I like how you have to conquer 'territories' in your game. Final nodes are safer than heavily connected nodes, for instance.

It would benefit a lof from a zooming button, and... was your photograph really required in the main screen? XDDD Well done! Note: there's a space-strategy game I've been thinking about for a while quite similar to yours, with wormholes shaping a graph... I should give it a try ;D

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:08pm

Luis, thanks. Glad you liked it.

Yeah, zooming is an obvious missing feature.

I added the photograph to give the game an extra personal touch. I like when people show a bit of themselves in their solo games - even if it's as simple as a photo :)

MagmaLemur says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:17am

The level of polish in this game is wonderful. Good work!

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:01am

very cool, great art and music design!

31eee384 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:26am

Neat game, great atmosphere! I really enjoyed it, but the controls frustrated me. I kept on accidentally transferring power between nodes instead of changing which one I was selecting, wasting power and making it very hard to advance. I didn't end up winning, but with some better controls this could be good fun.

Sos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:08am

Wooo! I won! (on easy but still) Cool take on an RTS, I like how it feels 'risky'

Tanner says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:01am

Besides the constant need to deselect - awesome.

FinalMirage says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Cool risk-style game. Controls could use some work but it works and it's a cool concept to see in action.

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:08am

A lot more fun than I thought that would be :)

BlackoutzDK says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:27am

Awesome game!

Good luck!

bobleny says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:36pm

Yeah, this is an awesome game. It is very well done and a lot of fun.

I do think it could still use some work. I've played it three times. The first time took me 32 minutes to complete because I couldn't figure out how to select a different node. Better instructions, I think, is all that is needed to resolve that.

The second time I completed it on easy in 23 minutes. On this run I new how to work the controls.

The third time I completed it on hard in 19 minutes. I was happy I beat it, but it really didn't feel any harder. I can't quite tell what is changing between the levels. It looks like the resistance bar might be filling up a bit faster, but the problem here is that the resistance doesn't seem to have any effect.

The game really is great though, good job!

P.S. (Nothing below is meant as anything other than ideas that may or may not make the game more fun or interesting. They are not suggestions and they are not faults of your current game.)
I just wanted to add a few things that I think would be cool, some of these may already be in effect and I just didn't notice, or some of them may have supposed to of worked and bugged out, I don't know.

As resistance builds, your damage decreases. That is one giant packet from your large node is able to take over one small node, but with high resistance, it isn't enough to take it over.

It would also be cool if on the higher difficulty settings, the speed at which your nodes regenerate could decrease, and your opponents could increase.

It might be cool too if you could select your starting node. I'm not sure what effect this would have on the game but I think it would add more of a repeat value.

Also for difficulty, on the higher difficulties, the frequency at which they attack you could increase.

In playing it, I noticed a difficulty curve. When you first start is quite easy because the only things attacking you can't do much damage. Then as you play It gets harder as you attempt to infiltrate other countries. At the end when you only have a couple of nodes left, it becomes just as easy as when you started. It might be cool if it progressively got harder as the game progressed. Perhaps as you take over nodes, more nodes will start to attack you, even nodes that aren't near you? As the world becomes savvy to your plan, they all start to gang up on you. The curve would still be there in this case, but hopefully pushed back a bit.

Oh, and the game can be long enough that a pause feature would be really nice.

I'm going to go play it now...

feili says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:02am

I really enjoyed playing your game! good work!

csanyk says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:45am

Looks awesome. I have yet to figure out how to switch mainframes, so I'm stuck attacking from London and can't get very far. :( If the controls were a bit more apparent, this would really be great.

csanyk says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:18am

Oh nevermind I figured out you have to press Esc to deselect. This game is really awesome. I wish you could simply select your source city by right-clicking instead of having to deselect. And if you could zoom out the map to see a larger area, it would be just about perfect.

brantkings says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Great game! Had a blast playing it. I believe ou should do something about missclicking though, because that happened too much times. Nonetheless, sensational work, my friend!

lotusgame says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:34am

One of the rare games i played till the end :)
Thx, very good game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]