December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Witch

by ReveLorenfield - Jam Entry

== Story ==
Being a villain is not easy. You are constantly pursued by so-called heroes who wants to kill you.
That's the story of the Dark Witch, a young lady whose only desire is to destroy the planet. She is almost at her goal, only 2 mn left before the target explodes... unless she is interrupted by a group of heroes.
Don't let them stop you.

== Rules ==
- Try to survive until the planet explodes
- Don't let the heroes army kill you

Mouse control
- Click on enemies to kills them

Extra keyboard controls
- Move the camera with A and D (qwerty keyboard)
- S button do the same as a click (but you still need to point a enemy with your mouse)


- Knights need 1 click to be killed
- Magicians need 2 clicks
- White magicians need 4 clicks
- If you summon the dragon, it will destroy every spawned enemies
(I'm sorry for the lack of damage feedback, time was running out :( )

== Tools ==
- Engine : Unity3D with 2d toolkit
- Graphics : Photoshop, Paint Tool SAI
- Sounds : No sounds in the LD version, CFXR in the post-compo


== PostCompo Update ==
I continued to work on the game even after the end of the week end. Here are the modifications/upgrades.

December 2012, 19th
- Added user feedback when you attack a monster (the sprite becomes red)
- Added animations for the dark witch and the heroes
- The dragon summon button requires 24 dead to be activated. The button is placed next to the witch and doesn't disappear.
- Added some texts at the bottom for the mood
- Added sound effects

- Change the score system : it counts the number of dead instead of an obscure point system
- Change the game duration to 1 mn instead of 2
- Change the spawning algorithm
- Change the white magician life to 3 instead of 4

- Remove the scrolling with keyboard.
- The player can always use the S key with the mouse click.

December 2012, 21st
- Added BGM
- Added "Knight Only Mode" and "Timeless Mode"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#54Graphics(Jam)4.03
#194Humor(Jam)2.39
#197Overall(Jam)2.87
#211Mood(Jam)2.64
#213Theme(Jam)3.03
#232Fun(Jam)2.50
#292Innovation(Jam)2.10

Comments

zimra says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:29am

Loved the animation of the heroes, and the overall style, it would have been nice to have the Dark Witch slightly animated to. Other than that, very cute game ^^

Oreganik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:25am

Aw man, got so close! That last wave of enemies was heinous! So, on the plus side, gorgeous colors and artwork. On the down side, no feedback makes for confusing play, and the lack of any connection between the blue-hat witches and their life drain made it hard to understand what was going on. And placing the dragon icon at the bottom center of the screen, where the eyes constantly sweep past it, might be a good idea. Overall: I enjoyed it, and it looks great. Good work!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:37am

Nice character artwork!
The Dark witch is so cute!

berareu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:23am

Your art is truly great, loved it! Even the dialog is pretty funny :)
My only real complain is about gameplay because after a while it gets boring. But it's still a nice game!

Winterblood says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:41pm

Lovely art and simple, fun mechanic...but sorely lacking player feedback for clicks :/ Could easily be fixed post-jam and released as a cracking little lunchtime distraction :)

saguaro says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:46pm

Love your graphics! I hope some post-jamming is in your future.

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:47pm

Nice graphics!

brantkings says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:52pm

Yeahhh! I destroyed the world!

Prety fun! I had 2 HP in the end.

pillbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:53pm

Fantastic artwork in this game, it looks really nice.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:47am

Thank you all for your comments; it's very encouraging :)
I couldn't work on the game today, but I plan to improve and polish more the game for a post-compo version tomorrow.

Thank you again for playing !

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:09pm

The graphics is impressive!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:47pm

Cute graphics, but I think an explosion effect for each enemy killed could have made it even better :)

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:08pm

The animation was fantastic. Sadly, there was no music, but if you did that animation yourself I can totally understand. Programming was a bit simple, but very crisp and polished. I saw a new hero appear right at the edge of the screen right as I won, was sad I didn't get to see what she did, might wanna make that one spawn earlier? Other than that, great game!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:01am

Very good looking !

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:58am

Nice graphics and simple game :)

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:10am

Really good graphics, animation and style. Very impressive.

The gameplay can get a little repetitive quickly, so adding some variation would help! I haven't played the post-compo, though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]