December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Battleship Texas

by Yngar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yeah I didn't have a lot of good gameplay ideas for this theme so I just kinda went nuts with it. The game is really short, and entirely controlled with the mouse.

All characters appearing in this work are fictitious. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Texas_Secession_Movement
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rick_Perry
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Tex

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#32Humor3.76
#110Audio3.25
#158Mood3.21
#212Overall3.28
#213Fun3.15
#218Innovation3.18
#414Theme3.11
#566Graphics2.39

Comments

Erik Price says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38am

This is the most ridiculous game I've played so far. Love the theme, well done!

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:41am

Texas flies into a Texassract, and then Texasslates into a Texasphere! The graphics are bad, I have no idea if this fits the theme, but I had fun!

vandriver says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44am

yeah this is the good stuff right here. high fucking five!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47am

I really enjoyed the story and the way it was presented. Definitely worth my time!

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:23am

This was the best Texas simulator I've ever played

noKid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:32pm

Weird, but I liked it :)

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:56pm

This was awesome! Really weird, but awesome!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:58pm

Dafuq did I just play? ._.
Don't know if it fits the theme or not, but I do know I f***ing loved it :D

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Mad as a hat full of badgers, but it kept me playing to the end :) You made 4 different games in 48 hours, you nutter!

Yngar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:11pm

lol yeah I was a bit indecisive. I learned a lot about stencyl working on this game. I think I probably stuck a bit too much local Texas stuff in there, people from everywhere else probably won't get the references. Just take my word that Governor Rick Perry is kind of an asshole.

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23pm

Realy love the it totally doesnt make any sense but the hell cares its an amazing game and keep up the good work

Manest says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:22pm

ludum dare + drug = this game

I love it

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:25pm

fun game, love the graphics, so much.

Nolan C says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:45pm

Really funny game.

I love that map.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:49pm

This is pretty fabulous. It just kept on getting crazier, AND there were several different types of gameplay jammed in here somehow. Nice work :)! The gameplay was admittedly basic, but I had a disturbing amount of fun piloting Battleship Texas and a good laugh to top it off.

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:49am

Is Texas the villain? I really enjoyed your game, I especially liked the music. The end was great too. Smiles all round. Thanks for making it.

farmergnome says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:57am

This was totally retarded, in the best way possible, laughed the whole way.

Sestren says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:56am

Loved the crazy storyline. The little mini-games lasted just long enough to not get too boring. Overall, very entertaining!

AdricZero says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:50pm

I'm from Dallas so maybe appreciate this game more. This is definitely the wildest game I played, but satisfying to play it through to the end. Enjoyed the mini games. Also the soundtrack was great and reminded me of Planet Caravan a little. Great work.

Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:20am

Great work! Big Tex was a nice touch.

Gaeel says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 2:18am

What?

ddionisio says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:07am

Having lived long enough in the US, I find this humorous. Great twist in the end!

drizzlybear says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:19am

Haha-- fun theme. I like the minigame-driven story. :)

Yngar says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Thanks for the comments everyone. I'm glad you liked it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]