December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Double, Double!

by metadept - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Double, double, toil and trouble! Stir the contents of your cauldron into order to cast your nefarious spells!

...OK, so witches aren't actually villainous (except in contemporary fantasy) but this is what I came up with.

Objective:
-Arrange blocks in rectangles of 4, 8, 16, or 32 blocks
-When the appropriate block type comes up, valid rectangles will be cleared for points (upcoming clear is displayed in upper left corner)
-Blocks are dropped from the top of the cauldron each clear cycle
-Clear cycles become progressively faster
-Game ends when there is no room in the cauldron for blocks to fall into

Controls:
-Arrow keys move the cursor
-A and D keys 'stir' blocks in the cursor counterclockwise and clockwise
-Space advances through menus, and pauses/unpauses the game

This is my second LD entry, and I'd say I improved on some aspects but still fell short in others. Graphics are typical programmer quality. Sound effects are bad because this is the first time I've made a game with sound! Music is missing because I'm not a composer and it's 5:50 on Sunday.

Written in XNA, so it requires Windows and the usual C#/.NET dependencies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#78Fun3.52
#115Overall3.50
#194Graphics3.43
#271Audio2.70
#332Mood2.84
#394Innovation2.79
#471Humor2.21
#638Theme2.48

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:25am

Nice, solid puzzle game. :D The sounds do their job just fine.

nihilocrat says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:33am

"Double, Double" makes me immediately think of this: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Double-Double

Nice game! Fun, with nice graphics.

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:39am

Not sure what else I can say since Crowbeak said it. Good job =). Kind of addictive

Cy4n1d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:42am

I love XNA and C#. Switched back to HTML,JS and CSS after 2 years.Very nice game. :-)

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:14am

I love action puzzle games!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:34pm

Very cute and arcade-like

hints says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Great game, very fun and challenging. Once that speeds get ups there it is very hectic.

Perhaps adding a button to clear early would be nice in the beginning though.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Good solid puzzler.

Shugor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:51pm

It's a pretty nice puzzle game, the clear mechanic made it pretty interesting. It gets more fun as it goes along, so it's addicting in that sense. Music would have added something to it, but nice job otherwise~

Maple says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:48pm

Good spin on a tired puzzle game mechanic, and well put together overall. The sound effects worked fine, too, no worries.

~Spaceoff

dek says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Well executed :)

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:17pm

It's a solid puzzle game. No complaints, really.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:32pm

My best score was 5440. Played it multiple times. The art is absolutely okay and your game is very, very fun and solid.

I needed a bit to get, that only specific colors are cleared dependent on the color of the text at the topleft of the screen. You should add/show the respective icon, too.

It would be nice too, if 2x3 blocks (etc.) get cleared, not only 2x2, 4x4, ...

You don't need to force the player to install your game. It is also better if you make a zip instead of a rar. I made a tutorial about this topic: http://www.stevencolling.com/index.php#howto_publish_xna_gamejam

Nice game!

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:05am

Pretty good. The "villain" theme seems a bit arbitrary -- you could have skinned any theme onto this, really. But it is a solid puzzle/falling block game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]