December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

FumbleAttack

by TuxedoFish - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my second entry and im pretty proud of the progress from my last game "shapelution". This game you click on the screen and release minions which mindlessly walk arround and the stupid hero(who you hate obviously "you are the villian") steps on them and you keep this up till he gives up sooo you move to the next day and different place(you have alot of evil labrotories) and you do it again but this time you have a new minion. It has 2 levels. Is extremly short because i had little time to make enough content. Use the "a" and "d" keys to scroll across the screen and cllick on the screen to spawn creatures to attack him. version - opengl 3.X. nvidia : https://developer.nvidia.com/opengl-driver amd : http://blogs.amd.com/developer/2010/03/25/ready-willing-and-able-%E2%80%93-amd-supports-opengl-3-3-and-opengl-4-0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#625Theme2.52
#694Coolness48%
#704Innovation2.05
#706Humor1.33
#723Graphics1.78
#737Mood1.47
#759Overall1.91
#763Fun1.55

Comments

TomK32 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59am

won't start on my mac :(

TomK32 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:00am

and i got java installed.

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14am

Im sorry my mac has security settings against playing things downloaded off the internet so what error did you get ? Could you go to terminal and try and find the erro there. also are you sure you have the latest java installed ?

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:16am

sorry i ment those to be like me trying to help but thanks for trying to play my game.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:45am

On mac, didn't run. Here is the error:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: start/EntryPoint : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

My java version:

java version "1.6.0_33"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_33-b03-424-12A269)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.8-b03-424, mixed mode)

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:06pm

my java is compiling for 1.7, if you can update you may be able to play it now. however ill try and make a 1.6 version for mac users.

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:20pm

Looks interesting but I don't understand really what to do. I click to release minions, but the "hero" just jumps off screen the first thing he doesn't and then nothing more happens.

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:20pm

o sorry you can scroll to the left and right using "a" and "d" keys.

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:43pm

To the Author: Here's my full log when running trough Terminal on the Mac:

YOU ran it from .... the command line >;O.. sweet ;D
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IllegalStateException: Function is not supported
at org.lwjgl.BufferChecks.checkFunctionAddress(BufferChecks.java:58)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.GL30.glGenVertexArrays(GL30.java:1536)
at level.LevelHolder.<init>(LevelHolder.java:27)
at level.LevelRenderer.getLevelData(LevelRenderer.java:56)
at start.Controller.start(Controller.java:109)
at start.EntryPoint.main(EntryPoint.java:11)

To all the Mac users: you can turn off the "don't run any unsigned stuff from the internet" in your system preferences under "security" or safety (the one with the lock, sry different localization)

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:02pm

tyvm it seems mac doesnt support opengl 3.0 which i probably should have been aware of sorry for being misleading i will take it down. Thanks for the feedback though. I would turn that off but its my dads mac ;)

Atomic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:00pm

Not sure if it's running correctly here, there seems to be no interaction between the hero and my dropper creatures.

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:03pm

Well obvioulsy I'm a real villain, this hero is afraid of me and flees in 5s. Sooo I can drop a few minions but really I think I'm missing most of the game. Maybe those NullPointerExceptions break the game (Windows 7 64-bit, Java 7) :
YOU ran it from .... the command line >;O.. sweet ;D
java.lang.NullPointerException
at logic.Crab.update(Crab.java:154)
at logic.Crab$1.run(Crab.java:96)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
java.lang.NullPointerException
at logic.Snake.update(Snake.java:153)
at logic.Snake$1.run(Snake.java:97)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
java.lang.NullPointerException
at logic.Snake.update(Snake.java:153)
at logic.Snake$1.run(Snake.java:97)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:23pm

The hero flees to the right off the screen because it is a scroller and you need to press d to move right (a to move left) and the creatures make him jump (and lose health) but it probably isnt obvious enough thanks for the feedback btw.

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:48pm

Oooooooh. Let me play that again :)

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01pm

LOSE! Well. Not sure I got the idea but at least know I know how to move. +1 overall :)

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:11pm

ahaha nice well thanks for trying it :D

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:44pm

The hero's running animation looks like he's about to fall, made me chuckle a bit. Also, he jumped over my every minion :C

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:47pm

ahahaha yes running animations could be improved ;). ahh no he lk jumps whenever he hits one but i can seee how thats a bit stupid and he should probably go red or something.

suve says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24pm

"YOU ran it from .... the command line >;O.. sweet ;D"
Hell yeah terminal. The idea is quite nice, so are the graphics. Crashes when losing, but overall, it's not bad.

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:37pm

ahahaha nice ;). thanks. yeh i made it close when losing but i should have made it restart jeez i made some stupid mistakes -_-. Thanks.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:21pm

I was unsure ifmy minions was hiting the hero. I tried several times but was unable to kill the hero bedore he reach the end.

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:01pm

he does do damage and yes it is really unclear he kind of jumps and you have to put when kind of where he lands. Im sorry it isnt very intuitive.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:33pm

Tried the Windows version, unfortunately it won't work :(

The game and my whole screen has black flashes and after some time it makes my NVidia OpenGL driver crash :/

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:44am

I have the same issue as Dir3kt, unfortunately. :(
I really wanted to play it. I'm sorry you're having trouble getting this to work for everyone. I'm having a similar problem with mine.

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:10am

okay what graphics card do you have it probably doesnt support opengl 3.X. There is nothing i can do to fix that as i would have to rework my whole game which i dont think is allowed or implement a library(i dont really know tbh) ill mention it in the description sorry.

Hume says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:33pm

Apparently I won.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Wow, really hard. Difficult to tell if I'm doing anything right, health meter for the hero would go a long way to fixing that.
Good effort.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:39pm

Neat concept! Were there plans for more enemies (down the right side?) I don't know if they factor in maybe if you win or something because I found it real hard to stop the guy.

Freakill says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Win! Wow I don't know if I played it the way it was meant to be played, but I just pressed the mouse button until WIN appreared on screen jejeje :) I think the idea is good, but lacks more information to know what is happening :S It would be nice a score system that allowed you to unblock new creatures, but nice beginning of a game! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]